The Willowz

May 28, 2012 Daytrotter Studio, Rock Island, IL

For the best audio experience, download the free Paste Music & Daytrotter app.
  1. Welcome to Daytrotter 00:18
  2. I Know 02:34
  3. Way It Seems 03:02
  4. Everyone 03:27
  5. Repetition 01:53
The Willowz

Words by Sean Moeller, Illustration by Johnnie Cluney, Recording engineered by Mike Gentry

Before Richie James Follin started schooling us with his psychedelic compositions for the superb Brooklyn band and Barnstormer alumni, Guards, he was on the opposite coast, writing more of the blow-the-lightbulbs-out-of-the-sockets rock and roll that will turn a room from fair to humid in no time at all. The music that he wrote for The Willowz was of a nature that it would send you reeling with nostalgia for he first wave of British invasion bands that were all coming over to the States in hopes of meeting Buddy Holly and Elvis Presley. These songs are ringing testaments to a fiery spirit that winds through all of the young bodies that just can't sit still and don't have enough time to shower more than a few times a week, if that. They are songs that don't even make you think twice about pulling that cigarette lighter out of your pocket and hoisting it - lit and hot - up to the sky.

Share Tweet Submit Pin
More from The Willowz