Tiny Ruins

Jul 30, 2014 Futureappletree, Rock Island, IL

For the best audio experience, download the free Paste Music & Daytrotter app.
  1. Welcome to Daytrotter 00:03
  2. Carriages 04:30
  3. Chainmail Maker 02:59
  4. Me at the Museum, You in the Wintergardens 02:38
  5. Straw into Gold 04:47
Tiny Ruins

Words by Sean Moeller, Illustration by Johnnie Cluney, Recording engineered by Ian Harris at Futureappletree Too

The moments of Tiny Ruins' songs drip like the branches, the eaves and the gutters after a drawn out rain shower. Everything's slow to get back moving, or to take back to the outdoors. There's a bit of a mood of waiting and seeing whether the weather has truly passed completely by or not. There's some hesitation there, a sense that we might want to just hang tight for a little while longer because we know that we'll just get our socks wet if we walk across the grass anytime in the next hour or so. It might just be better to grab another cup of coffee and not be in such a hurry. It might just be best to stay right where you are and just stare off -- watching all of that moisture burn itself off and dry out. Lead singer Hollie Fullbrook makes for a terrific companion as all of this is going on. Others could argue that nothing's going on, that you're not watching anything and that you're just wasting your time, but you'd complain back to them that time's only precious if it makes you happy.

Share Tweet Submit Pin
More from Tiny Ruins