WWE Announces Four Wrestlers for Upcoming Women's Tournament

Wrestling News Mae Young Classic
Share Tweet Submit Pin
WWE Announces Four Wrestlers for Upcoming Women's Tournament

WWE had been long rumored to be planning a women’s tournament before the Mae Young Classic was announced in April. Now we’re starting to get news about the participants.

Friday morning, WWE announced the first participants in the Mae Young Classic, which will film at Full Sail University on July 13 and 14 and will air later this year on WWE Network at an unspecified date. While there will be 32 contestants in this single elimination tournament, only four were announced on Friday: Lacey Evans, Toni Storm, Sarah Logan and Princesa Sugehit.

NXT audiences will already recognize Evans, who has recently started making appearances in the women’s division. Logan has also appeared on NXT sporadically before and after signing with WWE, but is best known to indie fans as Crazy Mary Dobson. Storm and Sugehit are relatively new to WWE audiences, with Storm being the first and current Progress Women’s Champion, further establishing the working relationship between the two promotions. As for Sugehit, she is CMLL’s current Mexican National Women’s Champion, and WWE describes her as “one of the most esteemed grapplers in Mexico” in its press release.

Named for the legendary (and somewhat controversial) women’s wrestler and WWE Hall of Famer, the Mae Young Classic will be a single elimination tournament featuring 32 women wrestlers from around the world. “We are proud to provide this unique opportunity for the best female talent from around the world,” said Triple H in the official press release from last month.

While no other contestants for the Mae Young have been released, there has been plenty of rumor and speculation about who could be showing up and who could be returning. More official news is expected in the coming weeks as the taping dates get closer and closer.

Also in Wrestling