Books

12 of the Best New Young Adult Books in May 2015

Books Lists young adult
Share Tweet Submit Pin
12 of the Best New Young Adult Books in May 2015

Scope out the must-read Young Adult titles hitting shelves this month! We’ve got debuts, sequels and books that are far into established series. Fantasy, sci-fi, romance … there’s a little bit of everything in this month’s roundup, book lovers. Enjoy!

1linebreakdiamond.png

Tracked.jpg 1. Tracked by Jenny Martin
Release Date: May 5th from Dial Books
Why You’ll Love It: If you only order one book on this list, make it Tracked. An action-packed thrill ride, it’s a Fast & the Furious-style sci-fi romp that is as exciting as it is original.
Description: On corporately controlled Castra, rally racing is a high-stakes game that 17-year-old Phoebe Van Zant knows all too well. Phee’s legendary racer father mysteriously disappeared, but that hasn’t stopped her from speeding headlong into trouble.

When she and her best friend, Bear, attract the attention of Charles Benroyal, they are blackmailed into racing for Benroyal Corp, a company that represents everything Phee detests. Worse, Phee risks losing Bear as she falls for Cash, her charming new teammate. But when she discovers that Benroyal is controlling more than a corporation, Phee realizes she has a much bigger role in Castra’s future than she could ever have imagined. It’s up to Phee to take Benroyal down. But even with the help of her team, can a street-rat destroy an empire?

1linebreakdiamond.png

Court of Thorns.jpg 2. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Release Date: May 5th from Bloomsbury
Why You’ll Love It: A new series from the New York Times bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series? YES. ACOTAR takes on the classic Beauty and the Beast tale, with Maas’ fantastic spin on it. Packed with magic, faeries and romance, what more do you need?
Description: When 19-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

1linebreakdiamond.png

City of Fae.jpg 3. City of Fae by Pippa DaCosta
Release Date: May 7thfrom Bloomsbury Spark
Why You’ll Love It: An imaginative fantasy novel, City of Fae whisks readers away to London, where tensions mount between fae and humans. This one’s more New Adult, but it will definitely appeal to YA readers. Plus, this is a digital-first book, so it only costs $5 or so.
Description: From the moment Alina touches London’s hottest fae superstar, breaking one of the laws founded to protect all of her kind, her fate—and the fae—close in.

Below ground, the fae High Queen plots to claim the city as her own and places her pawns, ready for the battle to come. A battle she cannot lose, but for one small problem—Alina. There are four ancient keepers powerful enough to keep the queen in her prison. Three are dead. One remains … and to fight back, Alina risks sacrificing everything she has come to love.

1linebreakdiamond.png

Wrath and the Dawn.jpg 4. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh
Release Date: May 12th from Putnam Juvenile
Why You’ll Love It: Another spin on a classic tale, Ahdieh’s The Wrath and the Dawn is a reinvention of the classic One Thousand and One Nights. With a twist-filled plot, diverse characters and a beautiful world, it’s a must-own in your YA library.
Description: Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the 18-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise, so it is a suspicious surprise when 16-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.

She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all

1linebreakdiamond.png

Making Pretty.jpg 5. Making Pretty by Corey Ann Haydu
Release Date: May 12th from Katherine Tegen Books
Why You’ll Love It: Yes! Another book from the author of OCD Love Story! Haydu writes compelling characters and knows how to tell a gripping story about love and friendship.
Description: Montana and her sister, Arizona, are named after the mountainous states their mother left them for. But Montana is a New York City girl through and through, and as the city heats up, she’s stepping into the most intense summer of her life.

With Arizona wrapped up in her college world and their father distracted by yet another divorce, Montana’s been immersing herself in an intoxicating new friendship with a girl from her acting class. Karissa is bold, imperfectly beautiful and unafraid of being vulnerable. She’s everything Montana would like to become. But the friendship with Karissa is driving a wedge between Montana and her sister, and the more of her own secrets Karissa reveals, the more Montana has to wonder if Karissa’s someone she can really trust.

In the midst of her uncertainty, Montana finds a heady distraction in Bernardo. He’s serious and spontaneous, and he looks at Montana in the way she wants to be seen. For the first time, Montana understands how you can become both lost and found in somebody else. But when that love becomes everything, where does it leave the rest of her imperfect life?

1linebreakdiamond.png

Made You Up.jpg 6. Made You Up by Francesca Zappia
Release Date: May 19th from Greenwillow Books
Why You’ll Love It: When you learn that this book “will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook and Liar,” you should want it immediately. It’s hilarious and heartbreaking at the same time, with a main character battling mental illness. Books that deal with mental illness well are rare, and this is one of those novels that does it well.
Description: Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.

ShareTweetSubmitPinMore