Ingrid Michaelson to Release Stranger Things-Themed Album, Stranger Songs

Music News Ingrid Michaelson
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Ingrid Michaelson to Release <i>Stranger Things</i>-Themed Album, <i>Stranger Songs</i>

The first release since her 2018 Christmas album, pop singer Ingrid Michaelson is releasing an album inspired by none other than Netflix’s Stranger Things.

Coming just a week before the season three premiere of Stranger Things on July 4, Michaelson’s album is available June 28 and is sure to be a fitting ode to the series.

Focusing on the synth-driven sounds of the ’80s and the overall score of the TV series, Michaelson strays away from her normal singer-songwriter ways; however, Michaelson really plays into the stories and characters of the show.

“There’s something about Stranger Things that’s really comforting, it brings me back to my childhood. It’s the best kind of escapism and I find myself seeking that now more than ever,” Michaelson said in a statement. “I took inspiration from the show and the characters and all these ideas started to come to me. Every song on the record includes a reference from the show, some more specific than others, but all of the themes are universal.”

Michaelson recently released “Jealous,” which illustrates the jealousy Eleven felt when seeing Mike with another girl. Similarly, the singer previously released “Missing You,” which details the love triangle between Steve, Nancy and Jonathan. Furthermore, “Best Friend” pays homage to the gone-too-soon Barb, while “Pretty” is about Eleven donning her blonde wig for the first time.

Other than the album, Michaelson has recently been adapting The Notebook as a Broadway musical, and is set to go on tour throughout September and October.

Listen to Michaelson’s “Jealous” below, watch her perform at the Paste office circa 2008 beneath that, and see the tracklist and album art for Stranger Songs further down.

Stranger Songs Tracklist:
01. Freak Show
02. Young and in Love
03. Hey Kid
04. Hate You
05. Jealous
06. Missing You
07. Best Friend
08. Mother
09. Christmas Lights
10. Pretty
11. Take Me Home

Stranger Songs Album Art: