2019 Independent Spirit Awards Nominations Revealed

Movies News Independent Spirit Awards
2019 Independent Spirit Awards Nominations Revealed

Film Independent has revealed its nominees for the 34th Independent Spirit Awards, as announced this afternoon in a Facebook Live video featuring previous winner Molly Shannon and Crazy Rich Asians star Gemma Chan.

Jeremiah Zagar’s We the Animals garnered the most nominations with five, while Bo Burnham’s Eighth Grade, Paul Schrader’s First Reformed and Lynne Ramsay’s You Were Never Really Here each received four.

A24 received by far the most nominations of any individual distributor with 12. Amazon Studios, Netflix and The Orchard tied for a distant second with six nominations each.

Check out the complete nominations list below. Winners will be announced in a ceremony on Saturday, Feb. 23, 2019, broadcast live on IFC.

Best Feature
Eighth Grade
First Reformed
If Beale Street Could Talk
Leave No Trace
You Were Never Really Here

Best Director
Debra Granik, Leave No Trace
Barry Jenkins, If Beale Street Could Talk
Tamara Jenkins, Private Life
Lynne Ramsey, You Were Never Really Here
Paul Schrader, First Reformed

Best First Feature
Sorry to Bother You
The Tale
We the Animals

Best Female Lead
Glenn Close, The Tale
Toni Collette, Hereditary
Elsie Fisher, Eighth Grade
Regina Hall, Support the Girls
Helena Howard, Madeline’s Madeline
Carey Mulligan, Wildlife

Best Male Lead
John Cho, Searching
Daveed Diggs, Blindspotting
Ethan Hawke, First Reformed
Christian Malheiros, Sócrates
Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here

Best Supporting Female
Kayli Carter, Private Life
Tyne Daly, A Bread Factory
Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk
Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie, Leave No Trace
J. Smith-Cameron, Nancy

Best Supporting Male
Raúl Castillo, We The Animals
Adam Driver , BlacKkKlansman
Richard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Josh Hamilton, Eighth Grade
John David Washington, Monsters and Men

Best Screenplay
Richard Glatzer (Writer/Story By), Rebecca Lenkiewicz & Wash Westmoreland, Colette
Nicole Holofcener & Jeff Whitty, Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Tamara Jenkins, Private Life
Boots Riley, Sorry to Bother You
Paul Schrader, First Reformed

Best First Screenplay
Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade
Christina Choe, Nancy
Cory Finley, Thoroughbreds
Jennifer Fox, The Tale
Quinn Shephard (Writer/Story By) and Laurie Shephard. Blame

Best Cinematography
Ashley Connor, Madeline’s Madeline
Diego Garcia, Wildlife
Benjamin Loeb, Mandy
Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, Suspiria
Zak Mulligan, We the Animals

Best Editing
Joe Bini, You Were Never Really Here
Keiko Deguchi, Brian A. Kates, Jeremiah Zagar, We the Animals
Luke Dunkley, Nick Fenton, Chris Gill, Julian Hart, American Animals
Anne Fabini, Alex Hall, Gary Levy, The Tale
Nick Houy, Mid90s

Best International Film
The Favourite
Happy as Lazzaro

Bonnie Award
Awarded to a mid-career female director with a $50,000 unrestricted grant sponsored by American Airlines
Debra Granik
Tamara Jenkins
Karyn Kusama

Robert Altman Award
Given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast
DIRECTOR: Luca Guadagnino CASTING DIRECTORS: Avy Kaufman, Stella Savino ENSEMBLE CAST: Malgosia Bela, Ingrid Caven, Lutz Ebersdorf, Elena Fokina, Mia Goth, Jessica Harper, Dakota Johnson, Gala Moody, Chloë Grace Moretz, Renée Soutendijk, Tilda Swinton, Sylvie Testud, Angela Winkler

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin