San Francisco Producer Giraffage Announces Debut Album Too Real, Nationwide Tour

Music News Giraffage
San Francisco Producer Giraffage Announces Debut Album Too Real, Nationwide Tour

The West Coast’s own Giraffage will make his full-length debut this fall, and that’s just the beginning of a slew of good news from the up-and-coming producer today. Too Real is due out Oct. 20 on Counter Records, and Giraffage has shared the project’s excellent lead single “Slowly,” as well as a North American tour in support of his album, kicking off in October.

“Slowly,” featuring vocals from New York-based producer Matosic, is a dreamy and intricate synth-pop odyssey that’s virtually impossible not to tap a toe to, luring you in with its buoyant hooks before revealing its more compelling and complex depths. It’s an intoxicating first taste of Too Real, which Giraffage recorded over the course of two rough years while holed up in his San Francisco bedroom. The record also boasts features from Japanese Breakfast, Body Language’s Angelica Bess and Harrison Lipton.

“Slowly” serves as Too Real’s keystone, as Giraffage explained in a statement:

“‘Slowly’ was one of the first songs I wrote for the new album. I spent a lot of time writing and scrapping various other songs/ideas but ‘Slowly’ was the first one to click and in turn it helped inform the rest of the album. This is the first time I’ve worked extensively with vocalists and I think that collaborative aspect led to some of the best music I’ve ever written. This album was written from 2015 – 2017 during a dark period of my life. So finally finishing it was a rather cathartic experience and I’m excited for what the future may hold.”

Giraffage’s 30-date Too Real Tour starts on Oct. 25 in Washington, D.C., and concludes on Dec. 14 in Atlanta. Tickets go on sale this Friday, Aug. 4—find more info on his (fantastic) website.

You can preorder Giraffage’s debut album here and listen to “Slowly” below. Further down, you’ll find the Too Real tracklist and album art, plus Giraffage’s Too Real Tour dates.

Too Real Tracklist:
01. Do U Want Me
02. Maybes (feat. Japanese Breakfast)
03. Slowly (feat. Matosic)
04. Edge
05. Green Tea (feat. Angelica Bess)
06. Falling Softly
07. Earth
08. 19 Hours (feat. Harrison Lipton)
09. Just Over the Horizon
10. First Breath

Too Real Album Art by Keith Rankin:

Giraffage Too Real Art.png

Giraffage Tour Dates:

25 – Washington, D.C. @ U Street Music Hall #
26 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Coda #
29 – Cambridge, Ma. @ The Sinclair *

03 – Montreal, Quebec @ Newpeak *
04 – Toronto, Ontario @ Velvet Underground *
05 – Detroit, Mich. @ El Club #
08 – Chicago, Ill. @ Bottom Lounge #
09 – Madison, Wis. @ High Noon Saloon *
11 – Englewood, Colo. @ Gothic Theatre *
12 – Boulder, Colo. @ Fox Theatre *
14 – Salt Lake City, Utah @ Urban Lounge *
16 – Seattle, Wash. @ The Showbox *
17 – Vancouver, B.C. @ Fortune Sound Club *
18 – Portland, Ore. @ Wonder Ballroom *
21 – San Francisco, Calif. @ The Fillmore *
125 – San Jose, Calif. @ The Ritz *
130 – Phoenix, Ariz. @ The Crescent Ballroom *

01 – Santa Fe, N.M. @ Meow Wolf *
02 – El Paso, Texas @ Lowbrow Palace *
05 – San Antonio, Texas @ Paper Tiger *
06 – Austin, Texas @ Vulcan Gas Company *
07 – Dallas, Texas @ Trees *
08 – Houston, Texas @ Warehouse Live *
09 – New Orleans, La. @ Republic *
13 – Orlando, Fla. @ The Social *
14 – Atlanta, Ga. @ Terminal West *

(* – w/ Sweater Beats + Wingtip)
(# – w/ Sweater Beats)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin