Waxahatchee Announces New EP, Shares “Chapel of Pines” Video Featuring Kevin Morby

Music News Waxahatchee
Waxahatchee Announces New EP, Shares “Chapel of Pines” Video Featuring Kevin Morby

Last year, Katie Crutchfield took a decidedly punk-rock stance when crafting her fourth LP as Waxahatchee, Out in the Storm. Now, the Alabama-born artist is leaning back into her folk roots with a new EP of reimagined songs, Great Thunder, out Sept. 7 on Merge. Crutchfield made the announcement Tuesday and also shared a new song, the delicate “Chapel of Pines.” There’s also an accompanying video featuring her beau and fellow artist Kevin Morby. Watch them frolic through some tall grass below.

Great Thunder is a collection of songs Crutchfield wrote while recording music with her experimental-rock project Great Thunder, and working on her Waxahatchee albums Cerulean Salt and Ivy Tripp. On Great Thunder, Crutchfield recorded new versions of the songs with producer Brad Cook (Hiss Golden Messenger, The War On Drugs) in Justin Vernon’s April Base studio in Wisconsin.

The first single from the EP, “Chapel of Pines” is certainly a sonic break from Out in the Storm’s tight rock melodies and seething declarations. “Chapel of Pines,” is a more gentle, soft interrogation, warmly composed with barebones acoustic guitar and piano, signaling a folksier EP to come.

““I would say that [Great Thunder] is a complete 180 from the last record: super stripped-down, quiet, and with me performing solo, it’s a throwback to how I started,” Crutchfield said in a statement. “Overall, the EP is a warm, kind of vibey recording.”

Morby, who also recorded two excellent Jason Molina covers with Crutchfield last year, had some high praise for the yet-to-be-released record:

Again, you can watch the “Chapel of Pines” video below. Keep scrolling for the Great Thunder album art and tracklist, and go here for Waxahatchee’s tour dates.

Great Thunder Album Art:


Great Thunder Tracklist:
1. “Singer’s No Star”
2. “You’re Welcome”
3. “Chapel Of Pines”
4. “You Left Me With An Ocean”
5. “Slow You Down”
6. “Take So Much”

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin