ALASKALASKA Announce Debut Album The Dots, Share Lead Single

ALASKALASKA Announce Debut Album The Dots, Share Lead Single

ALASKALASKA have announced the details of their debut album The Dots, out on May 3 via Marathon Artists. They’ve also shared the album’s lead single “Moon,” with an accompanying video by Elliot Arndt.

Following a self-titled EP, and 2018 singles “Meateater” and “Monster,” “Moon” is another intensely invigorating and rhythmic slice of art-pop. ALASKALASKA’s infusion of jazz and experimental pop blooms masterfully and gracefully on this track. Syncopated beats, jubilant horns and luminous vocals from singer, guitarist and principal songwriter Lucinda Duarte-Holman contribute to a danceable cornucopia of dynamic pop soundscapes. It’s easily one of the best art-pop tracks of 2019 so far.

Duarte-Holman explains the root of the album’s lead single: “‘Moon’ is an account of the monthly, cyclical ebbs and flows (pun intended) of my emotional and physical wellbeing. It is an insight into my neurosis. ‘Moon’ is about PMS.”

Per a press release, The Dots “is both the culmination of ALASKALASKA’s early-days period of experimentation, and a blank canvas for their impossible-to-predict future. A broad spectrum of identity politics and personal discovery, and the ways these seemingly cut-and-dry attributes can be affected by your setting and situation, plays out across the record.”

Watch the video for “Moon” below, and scroll down for their album artwork and tracklist. You can preorder The Dots here.

The Dots Album Artwork:


The Dots Tracklist:
01. The Dots
02. Bees
03. Moon
04. Arrows
05. Tough Love
06. Sweat
07. Meateater
08. Monster
09. Happyface
10. Heaven
11. –
12. Skin

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin