Alison Krauss Prepping Covers Album, Windy City

Music News Alison Krauss
Alison Krauss Prepping Covers Album, Windy City

It’s been almost 18 years since country/bluegrass icon Alison Krauss released an original solo album, and nearly six years since she last put out a LP with her Union Station cohorts. So a new record from the Grammy Album of the Year award-winner was long overdue.

Next month, Krauss will release Windy City, a 10-track covers album, featuring songs by Willie Nelson, Vern Gosdin and Brenda Lee. The record, her first for Capitol, was meticulously curated with her producer Buddy Cannon and it certainly shows in the lead single “Losing You” by the aforementioned Brenda Lee.

The song is a stately, slowly paced number with gentle dabs of pedal steel and tasteful strings that allow Krauss to gracefully croon about the profound absence that follows a romantic split. It’s moving stuff and if the rest of album plays the same, it’ll be one gut-wrenching record.

You can check out the tracklist, listen to “Losing You” and watch a trailer for the album below, and pre-order Windy City here. The album is due out Feb. 17 via Capitol.

Windy City Tracklist:
01. Losing You
02. It’s Goodbye And So Long To You
03. Windy City
04. I Never Cared For You
05. River In The Rain
06. Dream Of Me
07. Gentle On My Mind
08. All Alone Am I
09. Poison Love
10. You Don’t Know Me

Share Tweet Submit Pin