Allah-Las Set Release Date for Calico Review, Debut New Video

Music Video Allah Las
Allah-Las Set Release Date for Calico Review, Debut New Video

Los Angeles-based garage-rock band Allah-Las, whom Paste deemed the best of what’s next back in 2012, have just announced a release date of Sept. 9 for their third studio album, titled Calico Review. In addition to the confirmed release date, the group has also debuted a video for the lead single from the album, “Famous Phone Figure,” which you can check out above. Allah-Las are slated to embark on a North American and European tour in support of the album, starting later this week and wrapping in October, for which tickets are available here.

Calico Review, which is being released on NYC-based indie record label Mexican Summer, was recorded in the historic Valentine Recording Studio, which opened its doors only last summer after a nearly three-decade closure. The surf-rock band was then able to access the equipment of one of the genre’s most legendary predecessors: The Beach Boys, who used the very same 1964 Universal Audio 610 soundboard to record their landmark album Pet Sounds as Allah-Las used to create Calico Review. In much the same way that the iconic ‘60s garage-rock group did, Allah-Las revolutionized their studio sound by making use of experimental instrumentation, featuring viola, harpsichord, Mellotron and theremin in their new songs.

The forthcoming album will be the follow-up to 2014’s Worship the Sun, which received critical acclaim from fans and music publications alike. With their sound described as “ensconced in a warm, lo-fi glow combining elements of psych, surf, folk, garage rock and bubblegum pop” by Paste and “steeped in the pop sensibilities of The Zombies and The Kinks, laced with Northern Soul, lo-fi funk and the ever-enduring influence of Arthur Lee and Love” by L.A. Weekly, Allah-Las have brought their own brand of hazy, nostalgic California stoner-rock and continually redefined the genre with each album they’ve put out.

Check out the band’s tour dates here, the full Calico Review track listing below and make sure to listen to the band’s 2013 Daytrotter session beneath that.

Calico Review Tracklist:
1. Strange Heat
2. Satisfied
3. Could Be You
4. High & Dry
5. Mausoleum
6. Roadside Memorial
7. Autumn Dawn
8. Famous Phone Figure
9. 200 South La Brea
10. Warmed Kippers
11. Terra Ignota
12. Place In The Sun

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin