Arthur Buck Announces Dates for First-Ever North American Tour, Share New Single

Music News Arthur Buck
Arthur Buck Announces Dates for First-Ever North American Tour, Share New Single

Joseph Arthur and R.E.M.’s Peter Buck have united their talents in a project they have titled Arthur Buck. The duo will release their self-titled debut album on June 15, and today they share a new single and announce their first tour, planned for September.

Although this is Arthur Buck’s first-ever North American run, the two individuals have played shows together in the past—both related and unrelated to this new project. Arthur Buck gained its shape toward the end of 2017 when Arthur and Buck had a series of spontaneous jam sessions while in Mexico. After just three days, the two had written eight songs and on the fourth day, they played them to a handful of locals near Buck’s home. Having known each other through previous work, from Arthur opening for R.E.M. in the early 2000s to Buck backing Arthur, the two had intended to write together at some point. However, they hadn’t until the seemingly fateful act of Arthur leaving his Dobro guitar in Mexico the last time he appeared at the Todos Santos Music Festival—held by Buck. When Arthur went to retrieve it last year, the two were again brought together, and they ended up jamming out those eight songs.

“It was all new songs, and it was spontaneous,” Buck said. “And the great thing about working that way was that it didn’t have to be anything in particular. It was liberated from any expectation. It was free.”

Several songs have already been released from Arthur Buck, with “Forever Waiting” being released today; it joins “Are You Electrified?” and “I Am The Moment” as a hint of what’s to come on a record that Arthur and Buck have said is composed of songs that differ from their other recording projects. The album is available for pre-order via New West Records.

Arthur Buck have unveiled a series of 12 tour dates, so fans will have an opportunity to see the album come to life shortly after its release. Tickets go on sale this Friday, May 18.

Listen to “Forever Waiting” below and find Arthur Buck’s tour slate further down.

Arthur Buck Tour Dates:

07 – Seattle, Wash. @ The Crocodile
08 – Portland, Ore. @ Doug Fir Lounge
10 – San Francisco, Calif. @ The Independent
11 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Teragram Ballroom
13 – Athens, Ga. @ The 40 Watt Club
16 – Nashville, Tenn. @ The Basement East
18 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ World Cafe Live – Downstairs
19 – Boston, Mass. @ Brighton Music Hall
20 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
21 – Washington, District of Columbia @ Rock & Roll Hotel
23 – Chicago, Ill. @ Lincoln Hall
24 – Minneapolis, Minn. @ 7th Street Entry

Share Tweet Submit Pin