Bill Callahan Shares Five More Tracks off Shepherd in a Sheepskin Vest

Music News Bill Callahan
Bill Callahan Shares Five More Tracks off Shepherd in a Sheepskin Vest

After releasing six new songs last week, Bill Callahan is back with five more. That’s right: Now you have 11 fresh Callahan tracks to listen through.

May has been a busy month for Callahan. Earlier this month, he announced the July 14 release of Shepherd in a Sheepskin Vest, the follow-up to his 2013 album Dream River.

Now, with the release of the second side of his forthcoming album, paired with the six from the last, 11 of Callahan’s 20 new songs are out.

Callahan will release Shepherd in a Sheepskin Vest through Drag City Records. The new haul of songs—“747,” “Watch Me Get Married,” “Young Icarus,” “Released” and “What Comes After Certainty”—joins the lineup of singles from the first side—“Shepherd’s Welcome,” “Black Dog on the Beach,” “Angela,” “The Ballad of the Hulk,” “Writing” and “Morning is My Godmother.”

The songs are a sleepy, intimate conversation between the drawl of Callahan’s insightful lyrics and light accompaniment, mostly made up of percussion, strings and harmonica. And they give you plenty to listen to while holding your breath for side three, which is still under wraps.

Give Callahan’s new songs a listen here and check out his 2011 Daytrotter Session below. Callahan is set to tour the U.S. this summer—you’ll find those dates in Paste’s coverage of the release of the first side of his new album here.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin