Bleached Share Lead Single “Hard to Kill” from Their Forthcoming Album Don’t You Think You’ve Had Enough?

Music News Bleached
Bleached Share Lead Single “Hard to Kill” from Their Forthcoming Album Don’t You Think You’ve Had Enough?

Sisters Jessie and Jennifer Clavin of Bleached are pirouetting away from the stripped-down sounds of their recent track “Shitty Ballet” with their funk-inflected new single “Hard to Kill.” While earlier Bleached songs are made for head-banging, this one is meant for a good old bop. Sprinkle in some whistling and the odd cowbell, and you have a tune that’ll probably be stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

Despite its upbeat sound, “Hard to Kill” tackles serious subject matter. Jennifer explained in a statement that the song is about “staring down the road towards death and realizing I needed to wake up and get out of my selfish patterns of self destruction.” Bleached’s newly announced record Don’t You Think You’ve Had Enough?, out July 12 via Dead Oceans, is the first the Clavins have written since getting sober. The title itself is a question Jennifer found herself contemplating as she experienced a sea-change in her lifestyle.

The album, their first full-length since 2016’s Welcome the Worms, was born in a Los Angeles practice space in early 2018, and further fleshed out with friends and co-writers in Nashville. Jennifer handled lyrics and melodies, while Jessie crafted most of the instrumentation. The pair collaborated with producer Shane Stoneback (Vampire Weekend, Sleigh Bells), who encouraged them to push their sonic boundaries.

“Writing these songs while sober became somewhat of a spiritual experience,” Jennifer explains. “I had to let go, trust the process, and allow an energy beyond my control to be present.”

The video is just as visually delicious as the single is catchy, with the Clavins rocking retro-inspired outfits and pops of bubblegum pink brightening nearly every shot. Jennifer’s hair is piled high in curlers as she sings, “You’re so cool / You hate yourself / Lying on the floor in a stranger’s house.”

Watch the video for “Hard to Kill” below and further down, check out Bleached’s 2012 Daytrotter Session, the details of their forthcoming record and their extended tour dates. You can preorder Don’t You Think You’ve Had Enough? here.

Don’t You Think You’ve Had Enough Album Art:


Don’t You Think You’ve Had Enough Tracklist:
01. Heartbeat Away
02. Hard to Kill
03. Daydream
04. I Get What I Need
05. Somebody Dial 911
06. Kiss You Goodbye
07. Rebound City
08. Silly Girl
09. Valley to LA
10. Real Life
11. Awkward Phase
12. Shitty Ballet

Bleached Tour Dates:

20 — Chicago, Ill. @ The Vic Theater *
21 — St. Louis, Mo. @ The Pageant *
22 — Lawrence, Kan. @ Liberty Hall *
24 — Denver, Colo. @ Gothic Hall *
25 — Salt Lake City, Utah @ Union Events Center *
28 — Pomona, Calif. @ Fox Theater *
29 — San Diego, Calif. @ The Observatory North Park *

11 — Los Angeles, Calif. @ Moroccan Lounge

22 — London, U.K. @ The Lexington
24 — Reading, U.K. @ Reading Festival
25 — Leeds, U.K. @ Leeds Festival

07 — Phoenix, Ariz. @ Valley Bar
09 — Austin, Texas @ Barracuda
10 — Dallas, Texas @ Club Dada
11 — Houston, Texas @ Satellite Bar
13 — New Orleans, La. @ Gasa Gasa
14 — Atlanta, Ga. @ Masquerade (Hell)
15 — Raleigh, N.C. @ Motorco
17 — Washington, D.C. @ U Street Music Hall
19 — Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Elsewhere
20 — Philadelphia, Pa. @ PhilaMOCA
21 — Boston, Mass. @ Brighton Music Hall
23 — Toronto, Ontario @ Horseshoe Tavern
24 — Columbus, Ohio @ The Basement
25 — Nashville, Tenn. @ Exit In
27 — Urbana, Ill. @ Pygmalion Festival
28 — Minneapolis, Minn. @ 7th Street Entry
29 — Chicago, Ill. @ Lincoln Hall

01 — Kansas City, Mo. @ Riot Room (Outdoors)
03 — Denver, Colo. @ Globe Hall
05 — Boise, Idaho @ The Olympic
07 — Seattle, Wash. @ Crocodile
08 — Vancouver, B.C. @ Biltmore Cabaret
09 — Portland, Ore. @ Star Theater
11 — Oakland, Calif. @ New Parish

(*= w/ Refused and The Hives)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin