Bon Iver Announce First Album in Three Years i,i

Music News Bon Iver
Bon Iver Announce First Album in Three Years i,i

It’s been a long time coming for the fabled, perpetually-introspective indie-rock outfit, but Bon Iver have finally announced the band’s fourth studio album i,i will arrive Aug. 30 via Jagjaguwar.

The follow up to 2016’s 22, A Million, the album is described as the long-lost missing piece to the band’s seasonally-cyclical triplet of albums.

“From the winter of For Emma, Forever Ago came the frenetic spring of Bon Iver, Bon Iver, and the unhinged summer of 22, A Million. Now, fall arrives early with i,i,” the band explained in a press release.

The announcement arrives with two new cuts from the forthcoming album: the honest, yearning “Faith” and an aching, electronic cacophony titled “Jelmore,” both of which succeed the pair of tracks the band dropped out of thin air last month.

“Faith” and “Jelmore” both feature contributions from Buddy Ross, Francis Starlite, the Brooklyn Youth Chorus with The National’s Bryce Dessner, Camilla Staveley-Taylor, Wye Oak’s Jenn Wasner and Rob Moose.

Vernon attributes the “honest, generous inspiration within the group of artists” involved in piecing together the album—which also includes James Blake, The National’s Aaron Dessner and Bruce Hornsby—to building “a sense of community around the record.”

“It feels very much like the most adult record, the most complete,” Vernon said of the album in a statement. “It feels like when you get through all this life, when the sun starts to set, and what happens is you start gaining perspective. And then you can put that perspective into more honest, generous work.”

The band will embark on a short fall tour in support of the forthcoming album, with the Indigo Girls, Sharon Van Etten, Feist and Yo La Tengo offering support at select dates. You can check out the band’s upcoming dates below.

You can preorder i,i here, and check out the band’s new singles and 2008 performance of “Skinny Love” from the Paste archives below. Further down, find the band’s album details and upcoming tour dates.

i,i Tracklist:
01. Yi
02. iMi
03. We
04. Holyfields,
05. Hey, Ma
06. U (Man Like)
07. Naeem
08. Jelmore
09. Faith
10. Marion
11. Salem
12. Sh’Diah
13. RABi

i,i Artwork:

Bon Iver Tour Dates:

31 – Missoula, Mont. @ KettleHouse Amphitheater*

02 – Vail, Colo. @ Gerald R. Ford Amphitheater?
03 – Morrison, Colo. @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre?
04 – Salt Lake City, Utah @ Maverik Center?
06 – George, Wash. @ The Gorge Amphitheatre?
07 – Vancouver, British Columbia @ Pacific Coliseum?
10 – Portland, Ore. @ Theater of the Clouds?
12 – San Francisco, Calif. @ Chase Center?
15 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ The Forum?

03 – St. Paul, Minn. @ Xcel Energy Center†
04 – Rosemont, Ill. @ Allstate Arena†
06 – Toronto, Ontario @ Scotiabank Arena†
08 – Columbus, Ohio @ Schottenstein Center†
10 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Wells Fargo Center†
11 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Barclays Center‡
15 – Boston, Mass. @ TD Garden†
17 – Washington, D.C. @ The Anthem†
18 – Washington, D.C. @ The Anthem†
19 – Raleigh, N.C. – PNC Arena†

(* w/ Indigo Girls)
(? w/ Sharon Van Etten)
(† w/ Feist)
(‡ w/ Yo La Tengo)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin