Buddy & Julie Miller Release Two New Tracks from Their First Album in a Decade

Breakdown on 20th Ave. South is out in June

Music News Buddy & Julie Miller
Buddy & Julie Miller Release Two New Tracks from Their First Album in a Decade

Buddy & Julie Miller have released “I’m Gonna Make You Love Me,” from their forthcoming reconciliation album Breakdown on 20th Ave. South, out on June 21 from New West Records, as well as a 7-inch-exclusive track “Can’t Cry Hard Enough.”

Julie said of the former, a deeply intimate track that ushered in this ambitious new chapter for the husband and wife duo both in and out of the studio, “I wrote the song ‘I’m Gonna Make You Love Me’ as a message to Buddy, because we kept putting off making our album because he was so busy.” She continued, “It took me too long to communicate how I was feeling. I felt as if I was waiting for my turn. I know he feels guilty about it. I was ill, and I was depressed, and that complicated everything. Once he realized how I felt, he was incredibly gracious and he really focused on helping me craft what I wanted to create.”

Out of the roughly 60 songs Julie wrote during the Breakdown on 20th Ave. South sessions, the duo selected 12 for its final tracklist. The new LP is their first since 2009’s Written in Chalk.

Buddy said of what it meant to record “I’m Gonna Make You Love Me” with Julie in their shared bedroom just upstairs from Buddy’s official home studio, “After that first song, we wanted the record to be just us. The songs are all Julie’s, and she wanted the sound to be as raw as the lyrics are.”

Listen to the two new tracks below, plus a 2013 Buddy Miller performance alongside Jim Lauderdale from the Paste archives, and keep scrolling for more details of the Millers’ forthcoming album.

Breakdown On 20th Ave. South Album Art:


Breakdown On 20th Ave. South Tracklist:
01. Breakdown On 20th Ave. South
02. Feast Of The Dead
03. Everything Is Your Fault
04. Unused Heart
05. I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
06. Till The Stardust Comes Apart
07. Underneath The Sky
08. Spittin’ On Fire
09. Secret
10. War Child
11. Thoughts At 2am
12. Storm Of Kisses

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin