Camp Cope’s Georgia Maq Surprise-Releases Her Debut Solo Album, Pleaser

Music News Camp Cope
Camp Cope’s Georgia Maq Surprise-Releases Her Debut Solo Album, Pleaser

Camp Cope singer and guitarist Georgia Maq (nee Georgia McDonald) has delivered a very pleasant surprise this Thursday morning: Her debut solo record Pleaser, now streaming everywhere and available for physical preorder via Run For Cover Records.

Maq, Kelly-Dawn Hellmrich and Sarah Thompson released their sophomore studio album How to Socialise and Make Friends in 2018, earning a spot on Paste’s list of the year’s best records. Unlike the Melbourne trio’s politically charged, garage-friendly indie rock, Pleaser finds Maq expanding into synth-based indie-pop territory, crooning hypnotically about matters of the heart over thumping drum machines and electronic soundscapes, with nary a guitar to be found except on the album’s opener, “Away From Love.”

Pleaser is “a love album”, Maq explains: “I think the main theme is love, obviously, all kinds of love. Love that you walked away from so you could love yourself, unrequited love, forgiving love, love with no point to it.”

Maq’s Run For Cover labelmate and fellow Aussie Katie Dey produced six of the album’s eight tracks, while the first and fifth, “Away From Love” and “Like A Shadow,” were recorded with Darcy Baylis.

“Stay tuned for more Georgia Maq news soon,” a press release teases.

Listen to Pleaser below (or via your streamer of choice here) and find the details of the album further down. You can preorder a physical copy right here.

Pleaser Tracklist:
01. Away From Love
02. Driving Blind
03. Pleaser
04. Like I Do
05. Like A Shadow
06. Easy to Love
07. You’ll Be Singing My Name
08. Big Embarrassing Heart

Pleaser Album Art:


Share Tweet Submit Pin