Christian Lee Hutson Announces New Album Beginners, Shares Lead Single “Lose This Number”

Music News Christian Lee Hutson
Christian Lee Hutson Announces New Album Beginners, Shares Lead Single “Lose This Number”

Singer/songwriter Christian Lee Hutson has announced his signing to ANTI- Records along with the details of his new album, Beginners, out on May 29. He also shared the lead single “Lose This Number,” with a Zoe Donahoe- and Adam Sputh-directed accompanying video. Beginners was produced by Phoebe Bridgers, and she also sings backing vocals on this new single. Hutson co-wrote a song on the 2018 boygenius EP, and he also co-wrote two songs for the debut Better Oblivion Community Center album. Hutson recently opened for BOCC, Julia Jacklin and Okkervil River, and he will make an appearance at SXSW in March.

Much like his 2019 debut single “Northsiders,” which also appears on Beginners, “Lose The Number” is a gentle acoustic ballad, but there’s a larger emphasis on strings here, which were arranged by Bright Eyes’ Nathaniel Walcott (who arranged all the strings on this album). Its delicate string swells meld perfectly with his lyrical charm (“I just saw your name in the paper / You said of course that reminded you of me / Don’t you know that’s how a name works?”). Like many of today’s best songwriters, Hutson’s ability to flicker between sardonic and heartwarming is second to none.

“I think ‘Lose This Number’ is about someone fixating on the past, wishing they could go back and change things,” Hutson says. “My friends Zoe and Adam made fake rain, granny’s basement, dragged a mattress onto a rooftop, and vacuumed up thousands of feathers in order to bring their beautiful video for this song to life.”

Listen to “Lose This Number” below, and check out Hutson’s 2016 Paste Studio session, and the Beginners album artwork and tracklist further down.

Beginners Album Artwork:


Beginners Tracklist:
01. Atheist
02. Talk
03. Lose This Number
04. Unforgivable
05. Northsiders
06. Twin Soul
07. Seven Lakes
08. Get The Old Band Back Together
09. Keep You Down
10. Single For The Summer

Share Tweet Submit Pin