Dinosaur Jr. Announce Sweep It Into Space, Share “I Ran Away”

Music News Dinosaur Jr
Dinosaur Jr. Announce Sweep It Into Space, Share “I Ran Away”

Dinosaur Jr. have announced that their 12th album, Sweep It Into Space, arrives April 23 via Jagjaguwar. The album is the fifth released since the reformation of the band’s original lineup that made waves in the ‘80s and ‘90s, and follows 2016’s Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not.

To accompany the announcement, the Amherst band has shared their new single “I Ran Away,” a masterful mix of rhythmic acoustic guitar and electric guitar riffs. The song features 12-string guitar from Sweep It Into Space co-producer Kurt Vile, who is the only musician outside of the band’s lineup to appear on the album.

Frontman J Mascis said of Vile, and of creating the album right as the pandemic hit:

Kurt was gonna come up another time but he got Cornona’d. He played little lead things, like 12 string one at the beginning of “I Ran Away.” Then I ended up just mimicking a few things he’d done. I was listening to a lot of Thin Lizzy, so I was trying to get some of that dueling twin lead sound. But the recording session was pretty well finished by the time things really hit the fan. When the lockdown happened in March, that meant I was on my own. But it was cool.

Check out the visualizer for “I Ran Away” below, plus a track from Dinosaur Jr.’s 2009 Daytrotter session, and keep scrolling for the Sweep It Into Space album artwork and tracklist. You can preorder the album here.”

Sweep It Into Space Album Artwork:


Sweep It Into Space Tracklist:
01. I Ain’t
02. I Met The Stones
03. To Be Waiting
04. I Ran Away
05. Garden
06. Hide Another Round
07. And Me
08. I Expect It Always
09. Take It Back
10. N Say
11. Walking To You
12. You Wonder

Share Tweet Submit Pin