Dirty Projectors Announce New Album Lamp Lit Prose, Release Peppy New Single “Break-Thru”

Music News Dirty Projectors
Dirty Projectors Announce New Album Lamp Lit Prose, Release Peppy New Single “Break-Thru”

Dirty Projectors have released a new single and video titled “Break-Thru” from their forthcoming eighth studio album, Lamp Lit Prose, due out July 13 via Domino Records.

The single maintains the band’s trademark indie/art rock fusion while continuing the electronic/R&B sound of last year’s self-titled record. As stated in a press release, the song and album mark “a recommitment to the sounds and ideals of Dirty Projectors, embracing the band’s trademarks while pushing forward the sonic envelope” with guitars and intricate harmonies returning to the fold, as evidenced by “Break-Thru.” The lyrical content is another shift for the group, as frontman Dave Longstreth seeks “a restorative balance” after his breakup with former Dirty Projectors bandmate and ex-girlfriend Amber Coffman. Longstreth sings, “She’s a break-thru / Under the sun, there’s nothing new / But she keeps it 100 in the shade, she’s a break-thru / It’s cold out here, that’s nothing new / But she keeps it 100, she’s a break-thru.”

The video keeps in theme with the song as Longstreth sits in a colorful room filled with colorful parakeets and cockatoos. He plays, dances and sings with the birds, seemingly at peace as he shifts to different positions and furniture in the same spot. He strums his guitar intermittently throughout the video every time the catchy chorus hits. Having worked on the project at his studio in L.A., Longstreth is joined on it by The Internet’s Syd, Empress Of, Amber Mark, Haim, Rostam, Robin Pecknold and Dear Nora, along with bandmates Nat Baldwin and Mike Johnson. Three new band members are showcased on the album, as well, including Felicia Douglass, Maia Friedman and Kristin Slipp.

Lamp Lit Prose will be available physically and digitally (preorders available here) as well as a limited-edition double LP with a 16-page 6×11 libretto, which will be sold exclusively via Domino Mart and select indie retail shops in the U.S. and U.K.

Dirty Projectors seem to be flourishing at this new stage in their career while staying true to themselves and their fans.

Check out Paste’s 2017 interview with Longstreth here, as well as their upcoming world tour dates. Watch the “Break-Thru” video below, along with peeking at the album cover and tracklist, and listening to Dirty Projectors’ 2007 Daytrotter Session.

Lamp Lit Prose Album Art:


Lamp Lit Prose Tracklist:
01. Right Now (feat. Syd)
02. Break-Thru
03. That’s A Lifestyle
04. I Feel Energy (feat. Amber Mark)
05. Zombie Conqueror (feat. Empress Of)
06. Blue Bird
07. I Found It In U
08. What Is The Time
09. You’re The One (feat. Robin Pecknold & Rostam)
10. (I Wanna) Feel It All (feat. Dear Nora)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin