Eminem Drops Surprise Album Kamikaze

The album was released at midnight on Friday

Music News Eminem
Eminem Drops Surprise Album Kamikaze

Eminem has joined the ranks of artists delivering splashy surprise releases with his new album Kamikaze, released at midnight on Friday. It’s his tenth studio album, coming less than a year after 2017’s Revival.

The album, 13 tracks in length, brings back a host of tried-and-true Eminem staples. Production was handled largely by Dr. Dre, and frequent collaborator Royce da 5’9” appears on “Not Alike.” Skits are also back, with Def Jam CEO and longtime skit-subject Paul Rosenberg appearing on two separate minute-long tracks. Other guest stars include Joyner Lucas, Jessie Reyez and Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon. Producers Mike WiLL Made-It, Boi-1da and Tay Keith all contribute tracks.

Another Eminem staple that makes a return here: controversy. Apart from his new favorite subject, Donald Trump, Em goes after Tyler, the Creator, Drake, Lil Yachty, Lil Pump, Joe Budden and others across the length of the album.

While the album stays largely within Em’s wheelhouse, it does borrow inspiration from both past and present. The cover art is an homage to the Beastie Boys’ 1986 album License to Ill, and there are musical interpolations across the record, from Kendrick Lamar’s “Humble” on “Greatest,” to Migos’ “Bad and Boujee” on “Normal,” to LL Cool J’s “I’m Bad” on “Fall.” Other credited writers include Young M.A. and Playboi Carti.

You can stream Kamikaze via the link below.

Share Tweet Submit Pin