Father John Misty’s New Album, God’s Favorite Customer, Due Out in June

Music News Father John Misty
Father John Misty’s New Album, God’s Favorite Customer, Due Out in June

The details of Father John Misty’s new album have been revealed, though likely not in the way that Mr. Tillman and his associates had planned. As revealed in listings on iTunes New Zealand and Amazon France (first spotted on Reddit), Misty’s next record is called God’s Favorite Customer, and it’s set for a June 1 release via Sub Pop/Bella Union.

The iTunes listing includes the album’s cover art and tracklist, as well as audio snippets of two new tracks, “Just Dumb Enough to Try” and “Disappointing Diamonds Are the Rarest of Them All,” both of which are set to be released tonight at midnight local time. The former is a bittersweet romantic ballad built on jangling guitars and delicate strings, with a fuzzed-out guitar solo cutting in near the end of the preview clip, while the latter is more of a rocker, powered by emphatic piano chords and burly electric guitar.

God’s Favorite Customer includes Misty’s most recently released song, the characteristically wry and irresistible “Mr. Tillman,” though it does not include sunny 2016 one-off “Real Love Baby.” In an interview last fall, Misty described his new record as “a heartache album,” which certainly holds up by the looks of the God’s Favorite Customer tracklist.

Misty’s last album was 2017’s Pure Comedy, which Paste ranked among the very best records of the year. While that album spanned 13 songs and a whopping 74 minutes, God’s Favorite Customer is far more brisk at just 10 tracks and 38 minutes.

See the details of God’s Favorite Customer below, beneath audio from Misty’s 2012 Daytrotter Session, and stay tuned for the artist’s official album announcement.

God’s Favorite Customer Tracklist:
01. Hangout at the Gallows
02. Mr. Tillman
03. Just Dumb Enough to Try
04. Date Night
05. Please Don’t Die
06. The Palace
07. Disappointing Diamonds Are the Rarest of Them All
08. God’s Favorite Customer
09. The Songwriter
10. We’re Only People (And There’s Not Much Anyone Can Do About That)

God’s Favorite Customer Album Art:


Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin