Ibeyi Announce New Album, Share Video For Kamasi Washington Collab “Deathless”

Music Video Ibeyi
Ibeyi Announce New Album, Share Video For Kamasi Washington Collab “Deathless”

Sister duo of Lisa-Kaindé and Naomi Diaz (otherwise known as Ibeyi) have enjoyed a lot of success over the past few years. In 2016, they appeared in Beyoncé’s Lemonade film. Their 2015 self-titled album was released on XL Recordings when they were just 20 years old and its second single “River” has nearly 10 million views on YouTube.

Now, they have premiered the video for “Deathless,” a collab with Kamasi Washington, off their new album Ash, set to release Sept. 29. Ash will also include tracks with Chilly Gonzales, Meshell Ndegeocello and Mala Rodriguez, and production from Richard Russell.

The video serves as a visual for the healing powers of heritage and was inspired by Lisa-Kaindé’s unjust arrest by French police:

I was writing “Deathless” as an anthem for everybody! For every minority. For everybody that feels that they are nothing, that feels small, that feels not cared about and I want them to listen to our song and for three minutes feel large, powerful, deathless. I have a huge amount of respect for people who fought for, what I think, are my rights today and if we all sing together “we are deathless,” they will be living through us into a better world.

The theme of baptism in the video for “River” becomes a theme of birth in “Deathless” as the sisters are reborn in and out of one another, infinitely.

For an interview with Ibeyi, pre-self titled album, look no further. For the Ash tracklist and album art, see below. You can preorder the album here.

Ash Tracklist:
01. I Carried This for Years
02. Away Away
03. Deathless [ft. Kamasi Washington]
04. I Wanna Be Like You
05. No Man Is Big Enough for My Arms
06. Valé
07. Waves
08. Transmission/Michaelion [ft. Meshell Ndegeocello]
09. Me Voy [ft. Mala Rodriguez]
10. When Will I Learn [ft. Chilly Gonzales]
11. Numb
12. Ash

Ash Album Art:

Ibeyi Ash Art.jpg

Share Tweet Submit Pin