Irreversible Entanglements Announce New Album Protect Your Light

Music News Irreversible Entanglements
Irreversible Entanglements Announce New Album Protect Your Light

Free-jazz quintet Irreversible Entanglements are returning this fall with a new album. Protect Your Light is set to arrive on September 8 via Impulse! Records. The release is a follow-up to the group’s 2021 project Open the Gates. Composed of Camae Ayewa (aka Moor Mother), Luke Stewart, Aquiles Navarro, Keir Neuringer and Tcheser Holmes, Irreversible Entanglements are opening the door to a new chapter on lead single “Free Love.”

“Free Love” is, according to the band, a “universal message that provokes unity through a love that lives free, the love that lives in you.” The song is glorious and meticulous, as Ayewa’s poetic waxings blend delicately into the mirage of arrangements that her four bandmates put into the air beside her. “Sweet notes singing, I love you / It was a flooding / It was a rush of feelings / Coming over me / It was free / It was certain,” she muses. Recorded at Rudy Van Gelder Studios in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, where Coltrane recorded A Love Supreme, Protect Your Light dares to join the ranks of jazz adoration—a feat likely to come.

Watch the visualizer for “Free Love” and check out the Protect Your Light artwork and tracklist below.

Protect Your Light Artwork:

Protect Your Light Tracklist:
Free Love
Protect Your Light
Our Land Back
root <=> branch
Celestial Pathways
Degrees of Freedom

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin