Jacques Greene Shares Vibrant Single “Do It Without You,” Announces New Album Dawn Chorus

Music News Jacques Greene
Jacques Greene Shares Vibrant Single “Do It Without You,” Announces New Album Dawn Chorus

Jacques Greene has spent over a decade in the Canadian club scene, where the constantly evolving musical and social culture is cherished by those within it, and often misunderstood by those outside. Yet the beauty of Greene’s music is in its self-reflection—electronic dissertations on the emotional impact the scene leaves on those drawn into it.

Greene’s new single “Do It Without You,” from his forthcoming project Dawn Chorus, reminds us that synthetic energy surrounds us in all aspects of our lives, following us as we leave nights spent in the energetic haze of a party to wander back to familiar habitats—where the music is still felt, if no longer heard.

“Do It Without You” opens with a brooding ambient atmosphere, and adds elements here and there under a sampled female voice intoning, “I do it without you.” The track never settles, as its constantly changing form meanders around the sample. While it fulfills its purpose of getting us to move to its pulsing breakbeat, “Do It Without You” also emits a vague sense of melancholy. It might lie in the looming synth textures or maybe the insistent vocals, but the song is unmistakably human, despite its heavy synthetic layering.

This underlying human element will play a central role in Dawn Chorus, into which “Do It Without You” falls. Splitting time between his home studio in Toronto and Hudson Mohawke’s in L.A., Greene found solace in collaboration with prominent musical talents for the record’s arrangement. He worked with film composer Brian Reitzell, cellist Oliver Coates and producer Clams Casino—indicating that the record will lean into a medley of creative minds.

Dawn Chorus is set for release on Oct. 18 on LuckyMe. Greene is kicking off a brief October tour the night before in Berlin, with dates in both Europe and North America. You can listen to “Do It Without You” below, and find Greene’s album details and upcoming tour dates further down.

Dawn Chorus Tracklist:
01. Serenity
02. Drop Location
03. Do It Without You
04. Night Service
05. Sel
06. Let Go
07. For Love
08. Sibling
09. Whenever
10. Understand
11. Distance
12. Stars

Dawn Chorus Album Art:


Jacques Greene Tour Dates:

17 – Berlin, Germany @ Burg Schnabel
18 – London, U.K. @ St. Pancras Old Church – SOLD OUT
18 – Manchester, U.K. @ Warehouse Project (DJ set) (late show)
19 – London, U.K. @ Five Miles (DJ set)
23 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ National Sawdust
25 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ The Echo
26 – Montreal, Que. @ Ausgang

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin