Watch JD McPherson Perform Three New Christmas Songs on CBS This Morning

The songs are off McPherson's latest album, SOCKS

Music News JD McPherson
Watch JD McPherson Perform Three New Christmas Songs on CBS This Morning

JD McPherson appeared on CBS This Morning over the weekend to perform three songs off his most recent release, the Christmas album SOCKS, out now through New West Records.

McPherson’s retro-indebted songwriting is on full display over the course of the performance. From the 12-bar boogie of “Hey Skinny Santa!” to the golden-toned rockabilly of “All the Gifts That I Need,” the singer is in full vintage-Christmas regalia throughout the set. “Claus vs. Claus,” meanwhile, pairs McPherson with singer Lucie Silvas for a classic sultry back-and-forth.

SOCKS cut “Bad Kid” is the opening track on Paste’s 2018 holiday sampler, which you can download here. “You’d be hard pressed to find a better soundtrack to your holiday party than these swinging tunes,” Paste Editor-in-Chief Josh Jackson wrote of the album, “(other than this Paste sampler, of course).”

Watch the performances, along with McPherson’s 2016 Daytrotter Session, below, and keep scrolling for the details of SOCKS and a full list of McPherson’s upcoming tour dates.

SOCKS Album Art:

SOCKS Tracklist:
01. All The Gifts I Need
02. Bad Kid
03. Hey Skinny Santa!
04. Socks
05. Every Single Christmas
06. Ugly Sweater Blues
07. Holly, Carol, Candy & Joy
08. Santa’s Got A Mean Machine
09. What’s That Sound?
10. Claus Vs. Claus (feat. Lucie Silvas)
11. Twinkle (Little Christmas Lights) [PHYSICAL ONLY]

JD McPherson 2019 Tour Dates:

19 – Pensacola, Fla. @ Vinyl Music Hall
20 – Orlando, Fla. @ The Social
21 – Gainesville, Fla. @ High Dive
22 – Tampa, Fla. @ Skippr’s
23 – Savannah, Ga. @ Jinx

19 – Louisville, Ky. @ Coors Light Iroquois Amphitheater

Share Tweet Submit Pin