Daily Dose: Joan As Police Woman, “What a World”

Music Features Joan As Police Woman
Daily Dose: Joan As Police Woman, “What a World”

Daily Dose is your daily source for the song you absolutely, positively need to hear every day. Curated by the Paste Music Team.

Joan Wasser, aka Joan As Police Woman, released her soulful single “What a World” Tuesday to mark the announcement of her forthcoming compilation album Joanthology. The record is a celebratory and thoughtful look in the rear-view mirror at the first 15 years of her illustrious career.

“What a World” puts the contemplative nature of Joanthology, out May 24 on Play It Again Sam Records, into a single track as she wonders in a raspy voice, “Don’t know what’s worse / failure or success.” Wasser had previously played the song live, but didn’t rewrite and record the tune as a single after years of being asked about it. The American singer-songwriter explained in a statement how the song was originally inspired by a seaside stay:

I was at the ocean in a tiny house by myself when I wrote this song. I took long walks on the beach singing into the sound of the crashing waves; the surf so big it completely enveloped my voice. The feelings there were overwhelming and multi-faceted. At the time of writing, I couldn’t get over that the pain, which felt like it would tear me apart, was part of a larger feeling that made staying alive in this world so inexplicably joyful. The lyrics were difficult to write and raw in a way that made me shiver.

She added, “I combined the initial wild spark with the clarity of years of waves crashing on the shore. Pain and joy. Longing and equanimity. Infinite questions surrounded by endless movement. I’m looking forward to finally sharing it with the world.”

Fleshed out by organ and a chorus of background singers, “What a World” has an oddly spiritual bent to it, as Wasser whisper-sings in awe of the power of nature. The track is one of two new recordings on Joanthology, the other being a cover of Prince’s “Kiss.” The remainder of the album is composed of 30 of her best songs, specially selected by Wasser herself and her manager Tom Rose. Along with the album, there will be a release of Live At The BBC, a collection of tunes recorded in session for BBC 6Music.

Listen to “What A World” and watch Wasser’s 2018 performance at the Paste Studio below, and explore Joan As Police Woman’s forthcoming European tour dates and the details of her record further down. You can preorder Joanthology here.

Joanthology Album Art:


Joanthology Tracklist:

CD 1:
01. My Gurl
02. The Ride
03. Real Life
04. Eternal Flame
05. I Defy (feat. Antony)
06. We Don’t Own It
07. Christobel
08. Honor Wishes (feat. David Sylvian)
09. Hard White Wall
10. Start of My Heart
11. To America (feat. Rufus Wainwright)
12. To Be Lonely
13. The Magic
14. Human Condition
15. Run For Love
16. Forever And A Year

01. What a World (new recording)
02. Flash
03. Whatever You Like (T.I)
04. Holy City
05. Get Direct
06. Good Together
07. Your Song (first time on CD)
08. Myrrhman (Talk Talk)
09. Broke Me In Two (with Benjamin Lazar Davis)
10. Valid Jagger
11. Steed
12. Tell Me
13. Silly Me
14. Warning Bell
15. Kiss (Prince)

01. Live at The BBC *
02. To Be Loved
03. Start of My Heart
04. Human Condition
05. She Watch Channel Zero (Public Enemy)
06. Sacred Trickster (Sonic Youth)
07. Holy City
08. The Classic
09. Magic Lamp (with Benjamin Lazar Davis)
10. Let It Be You (with Benjamin Lazar Davis)
11. The Silence
12. Damned Devotion
13. Steed

Joan As Police Woman Tour Dates:

30 – Tromso, Norway @ Driv
31 – Bergen, Norway @ International Arts Festival

01 – Berlin, Germany @ RBB Sendsaal Radio 1 Concert
02 – Frankfurt, Germany @ Brotfabrik
04 – Antwerp, Belgium @ De Roma
05 – Esch / Alzette, Luxumbourg @ Kulturfabrik Big Hall
06 – Zurich, Switzerland @ Bogen F
07 – Padova, Italy @ Università di Padova, Sala Dei Giganti
08 – Rome, Italy @ Monk
11 – Copenhagen, Denmark @ Bremen Teater
12 – Haarlem, Netherlands @ Patronaat
13 – Den Haag, Netherlands @ Paard
14 – Espinho, Portugal @ Auditorio Espinho
15- Valencia, Spain @ Ram Club
16 – Barcelona, Spain @ Razzmatazz 3
19 – Bologna, Italy @ Botanique Festival
21 – Brighton, U.K. @ St Georges
23 – Leamington Spa, U.K. @ Assembly
24 – London, U.K. @ Earth
26 – Folkestone, U.K. @ Quarterhouse
29 – Cardiff, U.K. @ The Gate Arts Centre
30 – St Ives, U.K. @ Guildhall

01 – Exeter, U.K. @ Phoenix Arts Centre
02 – Bristol, U.K. @ St Georges
03 – Liverpool, U.K. @ Epstein Theatre
05 – Hebden Bridge, U.K. @ Trades Club
06 – Gateshead, U.K. @ The Sage
07 – Edinburgh, U.K. @ Pleasance Theatre
09 – Glasgow, U.K. @ St. Luke’s
10 – Leeds, U.K. @ College of Music
11 – Manchester, U.K. @ RNCM Concert Hall
13 – Dublin, Ireland @ Liberty Hall Theatre
14 – Letterkenny, Ireland @ An Grainan TBA
16 – Cork, Ireland @ St. Luke’s Church
17 – Waterford, Ireland @ Theatre Royale

03 – Dranouter, Belgium @ Dranouter Festival
05 – Corigliano D’Otranto, Italy @ Sud Est Independente Festival

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin