Joseph Announce New Album Good Luck, Kid, Share Honest First Single

The new album, which follows 2016's I'm Alone, No You're Not, is out Sept. 13 on ATO

Music News Joseph
Joseph Announce New Album Good Luck, Kid, Share Honest First Single

Portland-born sisters and folk-pop harmony-makers Joseph are back after a three-year hiatus.

The band announced Tuesday their third studio LP and second for ATO Records, Good Luck, Kid, is out Sept. 13. The news arrives with a fortified new single, “Fighter,” which you can listen to below.

As ever, Natalie Schepman and her sisters Allison and Meegan Closner use harmony like an emotional conveyor belt, packaging their feelings up and pushing them out into the world through a warm vocal connection that could only be made by siblings. But “Fighter” is bigger and more anthemic than the often-subdued folk of their previous releases, especially their 2014 debut Native Dreamer Kin and 2017 EP Stay Awake. “Fighter” sounds like a loud-and-proud pop song in the vein of Kelly Clarkson’s “Stronger,” but it’s actually a chronicle of inter-band struggles.

“The song’s about how our band almost broke up,” Natalie said. “It’s the story of the three of us wanting different things and dealing with that conflict, and eventually deciding to just keep going.”

While they’re embracing a more vigorous sound here, Natalie, Allison and Meegan are no strangers to pop. “White Flag,” from their 2016 album, is a catchy battle cry that would’ve fit right in on alternative radio. On Good Luck Kid, the band explore both sonic and personal change, as Natalie explains:

The through-line of the album is this idea of moving into the driver’s seat of your own life—recognizing that you’re an adult now, and everything’s up to you from this moment on. You’re not completely sure of how to get where you need to go, and you don’t have any kind of a map to help you. It’s just the universe looking down on you like, “Good luck, kid.”

Again, you can hear “Fighter” below. Further down, watch the trio perform in 2015 at the Riverview Bungalow during South By Southwest. Keep scrolling for the Good Luck, Kid album art and tracklist. The band are also heading out on a fall tour—find those dates right here.

Good Luck, Kid Album Art:


Good Luck, Kid Tracklist:
01. Fighter
02. Good Luck, Kid
03. Green Eyes
04. In My Head
05. NYE
06. Revolving Door
07. Half Truths
08. Presence
09. Without You
10. Side Effects
11. Enough in Your Eyes
12. Shivers
13. Room For You

Share Tweet Submit Pin