Laura Jane Grace of Against Me! Announces Debut Album with The Devouring Mothers, Releases First Single

The album is out Nov. 9 on Bloodshot Records

Music News Laura Jane Grace
Laura Jane Grace of Against Me! Announces Debut Album with The Devouring Mothers, Releases First Single

Laura Jane Grace has shared “Apocalypse Now (& Later),” the debut single from her forthcoming album with her new band, Laura Jane Grace & The Devouring Mothers. The album, Bought to Rot, comes out Nov. 9 through Bloodshot Records.

“Apocalypse Now (& Later)” is a tender love song, in a sort of twisted way. “On top of the world, at the end of the world, with you,” Grace sings. It’s about “witnessing the end of the world with the person you care about the most,” as explained in a press release.

Bought to Rot will be Grace’s first non-Against Me! album since forming the band in 1997. “It felt really relieving to be like, ‘OK, this isn’t an Against Me! record, so I can say whatever the fuck I want!’” Grace told Rolling Stone. She says she was strongly influenced by Tom Petty’s landmark solo album Full Moon Fever when recording Bought to Rot. The 14-track album is about “Grace’s fractured relationship with her adopted hometown of Chicago, true friendship, complicated romance and reconciling everything in the end.”

The Devouring Mothers are made up of a pair of frequent Grace collaborators: Drummer Atom Willard and bassist Marc Jacob Hudson have both worked with Against Me!, Willard as drummer and Hudson as sound engineer. The band has announced a run of November tour dates in support of their debut album.

Listen to “Apocalypse Now (& Later)” and Against Me!’s 2014 Daytrotter Session below, and scroll further for the Bought to Rot tracklist and album art, plus Grace’s new band’s full list of tour dates.

Bought to Rot Tracklist:
01. China Beach
02. Born In Black
03. The Airplane Song
04. Apocalypse Now (& Later)
05. Reality Bites
06. Amsterdam Hotel Room
07. The Friendship Song
08. I Hate Chicago
09. Screamy Dreamy
10. Manic Depression
11. The Acid Test Song
12. The Hotel Song
13. Valeria Golina
14. The Apology Song

Bought to Rot Album Art:


Laura Jane Grace & The Devouring Mothers Tour Dates:

02 – Rock Island, Ill. @ Rock Island Brewing Company
03 – Indianapolis, Ind. @ The Hi-Fi
04 – Lansing, Mich. @ Mac’s Bar
05 – Detroit, Mich. @ The Shelter
08 – Chicago, Ill. @ The Hideout
18 – Chicago, Ill. @ Cobra Lounge
29 – Chicago, Ill. @ Lincoln Hall

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin