Meet Lillie Mae With Her Jack White-Produced New Single “Over The Hill and Through The Woods”

Music Video Lillie Mae
Meet Lillie Mae With Her Jack White-Produced New Single “Over The Hill and Through The Woods”

Jack White has long had an ability to bring the very best out of the artists he works with, first evidenced on his work with Loretta Lynn on her 2005 comeback album Van Lear Rose and now carrying through to the artists who backed him up as he toured the world behind his last album Lazaretto, in particular, Lillie Mae Rische, who proved a reliable foil for him on stage as she played violin and sang backup vocals. Rische is now dropping her last name and embracing her singer-songwriter side with the announcement of a solo album, Forever and Then Some, produced by White and to be released on White’s Third Man Records.

Accompanying the album announcement, Lillie Mae has given fans a first taste with the single “Over The Hill and Through The Woods,” a song that bears White’s unmistakable touch. The mix of mandolin, banjo and electric guitar feels right out of the same wheelhouse that produced the more folk- and country-laced songs in White’s solo and Raconteurs output. Yet it’s Mae’s distinctiveness as a vocalist and strength as a songwriter, spinning a tale of love gone wrong, that really stands out. The pair make an excellent team, and the song bodes well for the record to follow.

The album features contributions from Mae’s siblings Frank Carter, Scarlett and McKenna Grace Rische on guitars, mandolin and vocals respectively, along with some usual White co-conspirators like Dean Fertita of Queens of the Stone Age and The Dead Weather on keyboards and Old Crow Medicine Show’s Cory Younts on piano, among others.

Forever and Then Some is out April 14 via Third Man Records and is available for preorder now and you can also purchase a 7” of “Over The Hill and Through The Woods,” a special edition of which will be released for Record Store Day. Watch the video for the song, directed by Elise Tyler, above, and check out the album art and tracklist below, along with Mae’s upcoming tour dates in the Southeast, which include some opening spots for Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals.

Forever and Then Some Album Art:

Lillie Mae album art.jpg

Forever and Then Some Tracklist:
01. Over The Hill And Through The Woods
02. Honky Tonks And Taverns
03. Wash Me Clean
04. Loaner
05. Honest And True
06. These Daze
07. Forever And Then Some
08. Nearing Home
09. To Go Wrong
10. Some Fine Day
11. Dance To The Beat Of My Own Drum

Lillie Mae Tour Dates:

09 – Birmingham, Ala. @ The Syndicate Lounge
10 – Savannah, Ga. @ Savannah Stopover Music Festival
16 – Spicewood, Texas @ Luck Reunion

28 – New Orleans, La. @ Orpheum Theatre*
29 – Mobile, Ala. @ Soul Kitchen*

01 – Orlando, Fla. @ Hard Rock Live Orlando*
02 – St. Petersburg, Fla. @ Jannus Live*
04 – West Palm Beach, Fla. @ SunFest
05 – Jacksonville, Fla. @ Florida Theatre*
06 – Atlanta, Ga. @ Tabernacle*

15-16 – Birmingham, Ala. @ Sloss Music & Arts Festival

(* – w/ Ben Harper & the Innocent Criminals)

Share Tweet Submit Pin