M83 Announces Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming 10th Anniversary Edition, Shares “My Tears Are Becoming a Sea” Video

Anthony Gonzalez has also been revealed to be "hard at work in the studio"

Music News M83
M83 Announces Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming 10th Anniversary Edition, Shares “My Tears Are Becoming a Sea” Video

The 10th anniversary of M83’s Grammy-nominated 2011 double album Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming came and went in October without much fanfare, perplexing fans who’d hoped for a vinyl reissue to mark the occasion. Today (Dec. 16), good things come to those who’ve waited, as M83’s Anthony Gonzalez has announced the album’s limited 10th anniversary vinyl edition, shared a new video for its standout track “My Tears Are Becoming a Sea,” and even teased brand new music.

We’ll start with the “My Tears Are Becoming a Sea” video (dir. Sacha Barbin and Ryan Doubiago, prod. Division), a prequel to the music video trilogy of Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming’s “Midnight City,” “Reunion” and “Wait,” which “chronicled the adventures of supernatural children on the run from forces wishing to capture them in order to study their powers,” as a press release summarizes.

Barbin and Doubiago said of the prequel video’s concept and trilogy’s storyline in a statement:

This story takes place 10 years earlier in order to highlight the first moment one of these children uses their supernatural gifts. On the way to the hospital and moments before his birth, the child’s parents are victims of a horrible car accident. The unborn child is forced to use his powers to save them from within the womb. The idea was to show the literal birth of a superhero. We wanted to place this story in a realistic and universal setting. We think that the panic created by this magnificent moment speaks to everyone. We also wanted to pay homage to the mothers who are too often absent from the mythology of superheroes. And finally, to go beyond the codes of the genre to carry a symbolic message of hope where future generations would come to save us from a dark fate.

As for the limited 10th anniversary edition of Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming, the new transparent orange vinyl pressing is due out April 15, 2022, via Mute, and available for preorder now. Photographer Anouck Bertin came back to shoot the new cover artwork, with subjects Kimona and Cormac returning a decade later in “a revamped imagining” of the iconic original image, in which the surrounding bedroom is updated to suit their ages.

Paste praised Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming as not only one of the best albums of 2011, but also one of the best albums of the 2010s.

That just brings us to M83’s teaser, which reads simply, “Gonzalez is hard at work in the studio and looks forward to seeing his fans very soon … ” Make of that what you will.

Watch the “My Tears Are Becoming a Sea” video and revisit the original video trilogy below, and see the details of Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming’s 10th anniversary vinyl edition further down. You can preorder it here.

Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming Vinyl Tracklist:
A1. Intro
A2. Midnight City
A3. Reunion
A4. Where The Boats Go
A5. Wait
B1. Raconte-Moi Une Histoire
B2. Train To Pluton
B3. Claudia Lewis
B4. This Bright Flash
B5. When Will You Come Home?
B6. Soon, My Friend
C1. My Tears Are Becoming A Sea
C2. New Map
C3. OK Pal
C4. Another Wave From You
C5. Splendor
D1. Year One, One UFO
D2. Fountains
D3. Steve McQueen
D4. Echoes of Mine
D5. Klaus I Love You
D6. Outro

Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming Vinyl Artwork:


Share Tweet Submit Pin