Nick Sanborn of Sylvan Esso and Megafaun Announces New Solo Project, Made of Oak

Music Video Megafaun
Nick Sanborn of Sylvan Esso and Megafaun Announces New Solo Project, Made of Oak

You may have noticed Sylvan Esso was busy publishing some cryptic social media posts over the weekend. Of course this gave rise to an endless number of questions and swirls of rumors, but even so, the truth always prevails. Really, we couldn’t be happier to share his latest news: Nick Sanborn of Megafaun and Sylvan Esso has just announced his debut EP Penumbra, which will be out Nov. 6 on Partisan.

It has been said that “The same phosphorescent weight found in Nick Sanborn’s work as half of Sylvan Esso is manifest on Penumbra, Sanborn’s debut EP under the name Made of Oak. The results are catchy, aching, and deeply satisfying. Movements disappear and bloom again, threads unwind and rewind, melodies sink in and disperse as a new picture finds form.”

In the teaser video above, Made of Oak debuts its presence among the raw instinct of nature. Perhaps one that, “is not an engineered rehabilitation, rather the emotional instinct to liberate himself from his own confining patterns and forge ahead; a result of discovering that it is impossible to have perspective on yourself if you’re standing still.”

Watch the teaser above, and check out Made of Oak’s tour dates and tracklist below.

Penumbra tracklist
1. Penumbra
2. Pinebender
3. Side Rides
4. Penultra (When I See You)
5, Blue Zipper

Made of Oak Tour Dates

12- Raleigh, NC – Pour House Music Hall (Friend Island Day Party)

5 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Bootleg*
7 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill*
9 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir*
10 – Seattle, WA @ The Sunset*
13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right*
16 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle*
17 – Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery*
18 – Washington, DC @ DC9*
19 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook*

*Tour dates with Tuskha

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin