David Bowie, Anohni, Radiohead Among Nominees for 2016 Mercury Prize

Music News Mercury Prize

The nominees for the 2016 Mercury Prize have been announced. The Mercury Prize is an annual award given to one album released by a U.K. or Irish based artist on artistic merit.

This year’s 12 shortlist nominees are as follows:

Anohni – Hopelessness
Bat For Lashes – The Bride
David Bowie – Blackstar
Jamie Woon – Making Time
Kano – Made in the Manor
Laura Mvula – The Dreaming Room
Michael Kiwanuka – Love & Hate
Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool
Savages – Adore Life
Skepta – Konnichiwa
The 1975 – I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it
The Comet Is Coming – Channel the Spirits

Another shortlist of six will later be culled from this initial list. For the first time in the award’s history, fans will vote to determine one of the six finalists. Fans select their pick here and must later confirm an email from the organization for their vote to count.

On Sept. 15, the official winner of this year’s prize will be announced after a vote from the official 12 member panel, comprised of musicians (Jarvis Cocker, Jessie Ware) to journalists (Guardian Music News Editor Harriet Gibsone, Kerrang!, Mojo, Q Editor Phil Alexander) and radio personalities (Clara Amfo, Annie Mac).

Past Mercury Prize winners include Arctic Monkeys, Franz Ferdinand, PJ Harvey and the xx.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin