Neil Young Announces Previously Unreleased Live Album Tuscaloosa

Music News Neil Young
Neil Young Announces Previously Unreleased Live Album Tuscaloosa

Canadian singer-songwriter and “Heart of Gold” balladeer Neil Young is gearing up to release Tuscaloosa on June 7. Young and his coterie of supporting musicians known as the Stray Gators recorded the 11-track set live at the University of Alabama—in Tuscaloosa, hence the title—in February 1973.

Produced by Young and Elliot Mazer, Tuscaloosa is billed as a “live greatest hits” and features songs included on our list of his 25 best. Young’s self-titled 1969 debut and two of his most successful early albums, 1970’s After the Goldrush and 1972’s Harvest, are highlighted as well. The set additionally contains tracks from the 73-year-old musician’s iconic Tonight’s the Night, an album Rolling Stone deemed one of the greatest albums of all time.

Reprise Records offers the collection in multiple formats: a basic single-disc CD, high-res digital download via the Neil Young Archives and a double album over three sides, with etched artwork on side four. Serious devotees can purchase a limited-edition bundle of the album and a full-color lithograph of the band onstage autographed by Young’s longtime photographer, Joel Bernstein.

Preorders come with an instant download of album cut “Don’t Be Denied,” first heard on the live album Time Fades Away.

See the details of Tuscaloosa below, beneath a 1998 Young set from the Paste archives. You can preorder the album here.

Tuscaloosa Tracklist:
01. Here We Are in the Years (3:56)
02. After the Gold Rush (4:42)
03. Out on the Weekend (5:29)
04. Harvest (4:14)
05. Old Man (4:17)
06. Heart of Gold (3:48)
07. Time Fades Away (6:10)
08. Lookout Joe (4:59)
09. New Mama (3:01)
10. Alabama (3:50)
11. Don’t Be Denied (8:09)

Tuscaloosa Album Art:


Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin