Exclusive: Watch U.K. Trio Our Girl Drown in Stuffed Animals and Make Too Much Tea in “Being Around” Video

Music News Our Girl
Exclusive: Watch U.K. Trio Our Girl Drown in Stuffed Animals and Make Too Much Tea in “Being Around” Video

After the release of their stellar debut album this year, Brighton, U.K., rock trio Our Girl have shared the video for their latest single, “Being Around,” exclusively at Paste. In our review of the album, Paste praised the band’s debut LP, Stranger Today, as “a strong record with memorable melodies, lovely vocals, impactful lyrics and some of the best guitar playing you’ll hear this year.”

“Being Around” is a prime example of the symbiotic relationship between lead singer/guitarist Soph Nathan (also of The Big Moon) and her loved ones, which serves as the record’s focal point. Teeming with atmospheric, melodic fuzz guitars, the track is nicely countered by Nathan’s soft, earnest vocals, painting the intensity, beauty and essence of both platonic and romantic love. “The song is about friendship, and the feeling of wanting to be comforted and to comfort others,” says Nathan. “It’s about a few different relationships, but they were all on my mind at the same time, which is why they all came together into one song.”

The video showcases a multitude of household objects commonly associated with solace to emphasize the coziness that relationships provide, but its absurd exaggerations give the clip some surreal humor. The video was directed by Will Hooper, who also directed the video for Idles’ recent single “Colossus.” Hooper says, “In the video we see the band surround themselves with all manners of home comforts that have gone too far; a bath full of cuddly toys, a sink full of cereal, a minefield of mugs. What should be warm and inviting is inflated till it becomes uncomfortable and awkward.”

Our Girl are also gearing up to release a collection of album demos and literal bedroom recordings, Bedroom Record, this Friday, Oct. 26, which is also available with the deluxe version of the album. “I make them on Garageband, usually as I’m writing the songs, so to me they feel quite private compared to the final full band versions,” says Nathan. “The full band versions are how we always intended the songs to sound, but we thought it would be nice to share this more intimate side too.”

The band has some U.K. headlining dates coming up in addition to some Scandinavian shows supporting Australian rockers Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever.

Watch the video for “Being Around” exclusively at Paste below and check out Our Girl’s upcoming tour dates further down.

Our Girl Tour Dates:

24 – Southampton, U.K. @ Heartbreakers
25 – London, U.K. @ The Garage
26 – Brighton, U.K. @ The Haunt

07 – Oslo, Norway @ John Dee Live Club & Pub *
08 – Stockholm, Sweden @ Nalen Klubb *
09 – Lund, Sweden @ Mejeriet *
20 – Paris, France @ Les Inrocks
22 – Berlin, Germany @ Basement Club
23 – Leipzig, Germany @ ilses Erika

(* w/ Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin