Exclusive: Roxy Girls Share Spasmodic New Single, “Trials and Tribulations”

Music News Roxy Girls
Exclusive: Roxy Girls Share Spasmodic New Single, “Trials and Tribulations”

Sunderland four-piece Roxy Girls recently signed to Moshi Moshi Records and have shared the details of their forthcoming mini album A Poverty of Attention. Today, they’ve also unveiled the first taste of the release with their new single, “Trials and Tribulations,” which made its U.K. radio debut earlier today. You can listen to the single exclusively via Paste below.

“Trials and Tribulations” unfurls with a rampant peppiness. With a nimble post-punk riff, a gyrating groove and frontman Tom Hawick’s talky chirp, Roxy Girls chronicle the quest to remain unfazed by the monotonous daily grind (“I will never be held down”).

“Everyone knows how it feels to be a little lost or to be stuck in a seemingly inescapable rut,” says the band of their headspace when they wrote their new single. “Trials and Tribulations does what it says on the tin really. We get bored when we’re on our own and letting other people into our lives can rescue us from this impending insanity.”

Listen to “Trials and Tribulations” below, and scroll down for their upcoming tour dates. You can preorder A Poverty of Attention here.

Roxy Girls Tour Dates:

05 – Leeds, U.K. @ Salemango Festival, Hyde Park Book Club
11 – London, U.K. @ The Social (For Huw Stephens)
19 – Newcastle, U.K. @ The Cumberland Arms
27 – Leeds, U.K. @ Hyde Park Book Club

26 – Cumbria, U.K. @ Kendal Calling Festival (Tim Peaks)

24 – London, U.K. @ Sebright Arms

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin