Röyksopp Announce Conceptual Project Profound Mysteries

Music News Röyksopp
Röyksopp Announce Conceptual Project Profound Mysteries

In 2014, Röyksopp released their final album The Inevitable End. It was not a goodbye, but rather “goodbye to the traditional album format.” Since then, the Norwegian duo has explored releasing previously unreleased music and B-sides as well as several collaborations. After a cryptic rollout of two singles ”(Nothing But) Ashes” and “The Ladder,” Röyksopp has finally unveiled Profound Mysteries (Apr. 29, Dog Triumph), a conceptual project and expanded creative universe.

The announcement is accompanied by “Impossible,” the duo’s latest single featuring vocalist Alison Goldfrapp. Goldfrapp’s voice emerges from the grimy synths, expanding upon the minimalist palette of the two previous Profound Mysteries singles. The dancefloor-ready groove breaks into a euphoric climax as Goldfrapp hits a satisfying falsetto. The single also arrives with an artefact and visualizer by Jonathan Zawada, comprised of unrecognizable images shifting and morphing with the music.

Below, watch the visualizer for “Impossible” featuring Alison Goldfrapp and keep scrolling for complete details of Profound Mysteries. You can preorder the project here and check out the Profound Mysteries interactive website here.

Profound Mysteries Artwork:

Profound Mysteries Tracklist:
1. (Nothing But) Ashes…
2. The Ladder
3. Impossible
4. This Time, This Place…
5. How The Flowers Grow
6. If You Want Me
7. There, Beyond The Trees
8. Breathe
9. The Mourning Sun
10. Press «R»

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin