Run The Jewels Announce Full Details for RTJ3, Share New Song “Legend Has It”

Music News Run The Jewels

Run The Jewels have some happy words for fans: “RTJ3 IS READY!!!!” they wrote today on their website. At last, they’ve released full details about their eagerly awaited third album.

RTJ3 will be out Jan. 13, 2017, though CDs and LPs won’t be available outside of North America until Jan. 20. It’s not the 2016 release El-P and Killer Mike had hoped for, but it’s certainly close enough.

They’ve also announced the album tracklist, which includes the already-released singles “Talk to Me,” “Panther Like a Panther (I’m the Shit)” and “2100,” as well as a new song they’re sharing today, “Legend Has It” (listen below). The record will feature artists like Danny Brown, Trina, Boots, Kamasi Washington and TV on the Radio’s Tunde Adebimpe.

Finally, they’ve given us the album artwork, designed by Timothy Saccenti, which transforms their logo to make a symbolic statement in tandem with their previous covers:

For us, the RTJ1 hands were about “taking what’s yours”—your world, your life, your attitude. The RTJ2 hands were wrapped in bandages, signifying injury and healing, which for us represented the growth in ideas and tone of that album. For RTJ3 the bandages are off, the chain is gone and the hands have been transformed into gold. For us this represents the idea that there is nothing to take that exists outside of yourself. You are the jewel.

Even more good news: El-P and Killer Mike will make RTJ3 free to download. But that’s not to say that you can’t instead “steal it from your annoying cousin,” a suggestion they also offer.

Preorder RTJ3 here and listen to “Legend Has It” below. Find the tracklist, album art and Run the Jewels’ previously announced tour dates beneath that.

RTJ3 Tracklist:

1) Down [ft. Joi Gilliam]
2) Talk to Me
3) Legend Has It
4) Call Ticketron
5) Hey Kids (Bumaye) [ft. Danny Brown]
6) Stay Gold
7) Don’t Get Captured
8) Thieves! (Screamed the Ghost) [ft. Tunde Adebimpe]
9) 2100 [ft. Boots]
10) Panther Like a Panther (Miracle Mix) [ft. Trina]
11) Everybody Stay Calm
12) Oh Mama
13) Thursday in the Danger Room [ft. Kamasi Washington]
14) Report to the Shareholders/Kill Your Masters

RTJ3 Album Art:


Run The Jewels Tour Dates:

11 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Electric Factory
12 – Washington, D.C. @ Echostage
13 – Pittsburgh, Pa. @ Mr. Smalls Theatre
14 – Cleveland, Ohio @ House Of Blues
16 – Columbus, Ohio @ Newport Music Hall
17 – Nashville, Tenn. @ Marathon Music Works
18 – Norfolk, Va. @ The NorVA
20 – Raleigh, N.C. @ The Ritz
21 – Atlanta, Ga. @ The Tabernacle
23 – Orlando, Fla. @ The Beacham Theatre
24 – St. Petersburg, Fla. @ Jannus Live
25 – Miami, Fla. @ The Fillmore at Jackie Gleason
29 – Tempe, Ariz. @ Marquee Theatre
30 – San Diego, Calif. @ The Observatory North Park

01 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Shrine Expo Hall
02 – San Jose, Calif. @ San Jose Civic Auditorium
03 – Oakland, Calif. @ Fox Theater
05 – Arcata, Calif. @ Van Duzer Theatre at Humboldt State University
06 – Portland, Ore. @ Crystal Ballroom
07 – Seattle, Wash. @ Showbox SoDo
08 – Vancouver, British Columbia @ Vogue Theatre
10 – Salt Lake City, Utah @ The Complex
11 – Denver, Colo. @ Fillmore Auditorium
13 – Kansas City, Mo. @ Arvest Bank Theatre at The Midland
14 – St. Paul, Minn. @ Myth
15 – Madison, Wis. @ Orpheum Theater
17 – Chicago, Ill. @ Riviera Theatre
18 – Royal Oak, Mich. @ Royal Oak Music Theatre
19 – Toronto, Ontario @ Danforth Music Hall
21 – Montreal, Quebec @ Metropolis
22 – Portland, Maine @ State Theatre
24 – Boston, Mass. @ House Of Blues
25 – New York, N.Y. @ Terminal 5

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin