Sam Cohen Announces New Album, Plus Tour with Kevin Morby

Music News Sam Cohen
Sam Cohen Announces New Album, Plus Tour with Kevin Morby

Sam Cohen announced his new album, The Future’s Still Ringing In My Ears, Friday, in addition to a tour supporting indie rocker Kevin Morby. He also released the first song from the forthcoming solo LP, “Something’s Got a Hold on Me,” a psychedelic ballad rife with nods to American protest songs.

The Future’s Still Ringing In My Ears, due May 17, is the follow-up to Cohen’s acclaimed 2015 solo debut, Cool It. The project began as a sort of happenstance; after a production session where Cohen was to collaborate with Danger Mouse (The Black Keys, Gorillaz, ASAP Rocky) on another artist’s material fell through, Danger Mouse—aka Brian Burton—suggested that the two spend their time in the studio working on some of Cohen’s personal material. Though Cohen has not written any songs since Cool It, the collaboration emboldened him to start writing again.

“Brian really helped me get motivated to make this record,” said Cohen in a statement. “His support pushed me to get started, and to value myself as an artist. It came at a time when I needed to hear that from someone.” The Future’s Still Ringing In My Ears is set to be released via Burton’s 30th Century Records.

Expect more dazed, psychedelic-infused guitar work contrasted by lyrics critical of the current political environment on Cohen’s new album. “I want people to hear this and say, yes, this is all really heavy, and I also feel helpless, and we don’t have any good answers,” Cohen explains, “but we have each other. And this music sounds really good! It’s all I can offer.”

Listen to “Something’s Got a Hold on Me” below (or via your streamer of choice here), and check out the details of The Future’s Still Ringing In My Ears” further down, as along with Cohen’s tour dates with Morby.

The Future’s Still Ringing In My Ears Tracklist:
01. I Can’t Lose
02. Something’s Got A Hold On Me
03. Man On Fire
04. No Good and Trying
05. Invisible Song
06. Deafening Silence
07. Dead Rider
08. Let The Sun Come Through
09. Waiting For My Baby
10. Spinning Love
11. The Future

The Future’s Still Ringing In My Ears Album Art:


Sam Cohen Tour Dates:

08 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ The Theatre at Ace Hotel
10 – Santa Cruz, Calif. @ The Catalyst
11 – San Francisco, Calif. @ The Fillmore
13 – Portland, Ore. @ Crystal Ballroom
14 – Seattle, Wash. @ The Showbox
15 – Vancouver, B.C. @ Imperial Vancouver
17 – Salt Lake City, Utah @ The State Room
18 – Denver, Col. @ The Bluebird Theater
31 – New York, N.Y. @ Town Hall

01 – Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club
02 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Union Transfer
03 – Cambridge, Mass. @ The Sinclair
05 – Toronto, Ont. @ The Opera House
06 – Ann Arbor, Mich. @ The Ark
07 – Chicago, Ill. @ Thalia Hall
08 – Chicago, Ill. @ Thalia Hall

(supporting Kevin Morby)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin