Slaughter Beach, Dog Announce New Album, Share First Two Singles

Music News Slaughter Beach, Dog
Slaughter Beach, Dog Announce New Album, Share First Two Singles

Philadelphia-based outfit Slaughter Beach, Dog have shared the first two singles from their forthcoming album Safe And Also No Fear, out Aug. 2 via Lame-O Records.

Plunging into darker and denser territory, “One Down” is a despondent, exhausted ballad awash with scenes of alienation, while “Good Ones,” a track anchored in brighter melodies, marks a break in the band’s poppier songwriting.

The brain-child of Jake Ewald of Modern Baseball, Slaughter Beach, Dog’s Safe And Also No Fear marks Ewald’s first venture into full-fledged collaboration. Unlike 2017’s Birdie, where Ewald played every instrument, he spent a full year collaborating with bassist Ian Farmer (Modern Baseball), Nick Harris (All Dogs) and Zach Robbins (Superheaven) to construct the project’s unique sound, a blend of pop music, indie rock and folk unlike anything he’d ever produced before.

Safe And Also No Fear is rooted in vague sketches of anxieties and confusion, and Ewald stands at its center questioning everything he knows about himself. “Well, since when can an honest man get high after a day of honest work?” he asks on “Good Ones,” crying out as the good ones “aren’t quite as good as you had recalled.”

The band’s third album is available for preorder via Lame-O Records today, May 28, and tour dates will be announced soon.

You can check out the band’s two new singles, revisit Modern Baseball’s 2014 performance from the Paste archives and see the details of Safe And Also No Fear, all below.

Safe And Also No Fear Album Art:


Safe And Also No Fear Tracklist:
01. One Down
02. Good Ones
03. Dogs
04. Black Oak
05. Petersburg
06. Tangerine
07. Heart Attack
08. One Day
09. Map Of The Stars
10. Anything

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin