Suede to Reissue Self-Titled Debut Album for 25th Anniversary

Music News Suede
Suede to Reissue Self-Titled Debut Album for 25th Anniversary

Britpop band Suede have announced the reissue of their 1993 Mercury Prize-winning, self-titled debut album.

The band were often known as The London Suede in the U.S. and were among the leaders of the ‘90s Britpop movement in the U.K. alongside Oasis, Blur, Pulp, Supergrass, Elastica and others.

Their debut album features some of the band’s classic singles like “The Drowners,” “So Young” and “Animal Nitrate,” the last of which was ranked #29 on Paste’s list of the 50 best Britpop songs of all-time.

This new reissue will mark the 25th anniversary of the album’s release with a Silver Edition deluxe package consisting of four CDs and a DVD, out on March 30 via Edsel.

The Suede 25th Anniversary Silver Edition bookset will contain the original album, as well as many unreleased B-sides, demos, monitor mixes, BBC sessions and a 1993 live performance. The DVD includes six TV performances and an hour-long film of frontman Brett Anderson and lead guitarist Bernard Butler discussing the writing and recording of the album.

Watch a trailer for the reissue and listen to Suede’s 2013 Daytrotter Session below, and see the full tracklist further down. Preorder the album now here.

CD1 (Original Album):
01. “So Young”
02. “Animal Nitrate”
03. “She’s Not Dead”
04. “Moving”
05. “Pantomime Horse”
06. “The Drowners”
07. “Sleeping Pills”
08. “Breakdown”
09. “Metal Mickey”
10. “Animal Lover”
11. “The Next Life”

CD 2 (The B-Sides):
01. “My Insatiable One”
02. “To The Birds”
03. “He’s Dead”
04. “Where The Pigs Don’t Fly”
05. “Painted People”
06. “The Big Time”
07. “High Rising”
08. “Dolly”
09. “My Insatiable One (Piano Version)”
10. “Brass In Pocket”

CD 3 (Demos, Monitor Mixes, & BBC Radio 1 Session):
01. “The Drowners” (Rocking Horse Demos, October 1991)
02. “He’s Dead” (Rocking Horse Demos, October 1991)
03. “Moving” (Rocking Horse Demos, October 1991)
04. “To The Birds” (Rocking Horse Demos, October 1991)
05. “Metal Mickey” (Island Demos, January 1992)
06. “Pantomime Horse” (Island Demos, January 1992)
07. “High Wire (My Insatiable One)” (Island Demos, January 1992)
08. “The Drowners” (Island Demos, January 1992)
09. “To The Birds” (Island Demos, January 1992)
10. “Sleeping Pills” (East West Demo, March 1992)
11. “The Drowners” (Single Monitor Mixes, March 1992
12. “To The Birds” (Single Monitor Mixes, March 1992
13. “My Insatiable One” (Single Monitor Mixes, March 1992
14. “Metal Mickey” (BBC Radio 1, Mark Goodier Show, April 1992)
15. “The Drowners” (BBC Radio 1, Mark Goodier Show, April 1992)
16. “Sleeping Pills” (BBC Radio 1, Mark Goodier Show, April 1992)
17. “Moving” (BBC Radio 1, Mark Goodier Show, April 1992)
18. “Diesel” (Instrumental Studio Outtake)
19. “Stars On 45? (Rehearsal Room Recording)
20. “Sleeping Pills (Strings)”

CD4 (Live At The Leadmill, February 1993):
01. “Metal Mickey”
02. “Moving”
03. “My Insatiable One”
04. “Animal Nitrate”
05. “Pantomime Horse”
06. “The Drowners”
07. “Painted People”
08. “So Young”
09. “Animal Lover”
10. “Sleeping Pills”
11. “To The Birds”

01. “The Drowner” (The Late Show, 5/7/92)
02. “Metal Mickey” (Top Of The Pops, 9/24/92)
03. “So Young” (Top Of The Pops, 5/27/93)
04. “So Young” (Later… With Jools Holland, 6/4/93)
05. “The Next Life” (Later… With Jools Holland, 6/4/93)
06. “My Insatiable One” (Later… With Jools Holland, 6/4/93)

Share Tweet Submit Pin