Sunflower Bean Share New Single, “Baby Don’t Cry”

Music News Sunflower Bean
Sunflower Bean Share New Single, “Baby Don’t Cry”

After New York-based trio Sunflower Bean found success with their 2018 sophomore album, Twentytwo in Blue, the group only released one EP—King of the Dudes in 2019. Now, Sunflower Bean have released their first single of 2021, “Baby Don’t Cry,” out now via Mom + Pop Music.

The glam-rock group are a bit more grunge on their latest single, but it is still as jolting as their usual guitar-driven, groove-heavy tracks. “Baby Don’t Cry” is also produced and mixed by Unknown Mortal Orchestra’s Jacob Portrait.

The band explained the inspiration for the single in a statement:

So many things in our lives are disposable. Content and news is consumed and discarded leaving us unfulfilled. “Baby Don’t Cry” is about enjoying the real. The things right in front of us that give us meaning and how sometimes, even sad songs can give you that warm feeling of hope.

Since King of the Dudes, Sunflower Bean have spent their time performing, rather than releasing music. The band toured with Beck, Cage the Elephant, Interpol and Courtney Barnett, and opened for Bernie Sanders and The Strokes in New Hampshire.

Along with the single, Sunflower Bean announced their upcoming U.S. tour, taking place December 2021 and March 2022.

Listen to “Baby Don’t Cry” below, plus a 2016 Sunflower Bean session fro the Paste archives, and find the band’s upcoming tour dates further down.

Sunflower Bean Tour Dates:

09 – Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground Showcase Lounge
10 – Hamden, CT @ Space Ballroom
11 – Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace

March 2022
04 – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar
05 – Millersville, PA @ Phantom Power
06 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Cafe
08 – Columbus, OH @ A&R Music Bar
10 – Indianapolis, IN @ HI-FI
11 – Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar
12 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway
19 – Nashville, TN @ Exit/In
20 – Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle
21 – Durham, NC @ Motorco

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin