Swim Deep Return with “To Feel Good,” Announce New Album

Music News Swim Deep
Swim Deep Return with “To Feel Good,” Announce New Album

Dream-pop darlings Swim Deep have made their triumphant return with “To Feel Good,” the opening track from the band’s forthcoming album, Emerald Classics.

The song is its own warped rendition of Rozalla’s “Everybody’s Free (To Feel Good),” squished through a chamber of bright keyboards and trumpets, and fed through a church choir (Margate’s Social Singing Choir, to be specific).

Vocalist Austin Williams told Wonderland Mag that the song follows a mundane day in the life of his 18-year-old self as he realizes what he wants to do, but doesn’t know how to get there. He tells a job center employee he’s trying to make his way with music and the employee tells him to not forget him when he’s famous.

And music, that wonderful, euphoric thing—“it’s the only reason that I wake up (to feel good) / It’s the only reason that I care,” Williams repeats.

A dark, but richly shot music video accompanies the single, featuring Williams getting the living shit beaten out of him in a ring of misfits and fellow bandmates.

Since releasing 2015’s Mothers and going on a four-year hiatus to regroup, Swim Deep have undergone some significant changes, notably switching to the new label imprint Pop Committee via Cooking Vinyl and retooling their lineup. Swim Deep mainstays Williams, Cavan McCarthy and James Balmont are now joined by drummer Tomas Tomaski (Childhood) and guitarist Robbie Wood.

“Personnel changes, friendships revived, relationships requited sees the original axis of Austin and Cav return together with a steely confidence and a collection of their most fully-fledged pop songs yet,” the band’s press release reads.

The band describes Emerald Classics as an album for dreamers and pub jukeboxes. The album is out via Pop Committee via Cooking Vinyl on Oct. 4, and you can preorder it here.

The band will be performing three sold-out hometown shows in Birmingham in June, and further U.K. shows will be announced shortly.

Check out the band’s new music video and 2013 Daytrotter Session below, and find the tracklist for Emerald Classics further down.

Emerald Classics Tracklist:
01. To Feel Good
02. 021 Desire
03. Bruised
04. World I Share
05. Father I Pray
06. Sail Away, Say Goodbye
07. Drag Queens In Soho
08. Happy As Larrie
09. Top Of The Pops
10. Never Stop Pinching Myself

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin