PREMIERE: Listen to the Felice Brothers’ New Single “Flowers By the Roadside”

Valley of Abandoned Songs is due out June 28 via Million Stars.

Music News The Felice Brothers
PREMIERE: Listen to the Felice Brothers’ New Single “Flowers By the Roadside”

Today, the Felice Brothers have released the second single from their forthcoming album, Valley of Abandoned Songs, which is set to arrive on June 28 via Conor Oberst‘s label imprint Million Stars. The record is made up of recordings from the band’s 2019 and 2023 albums Undress and Asylum On The Hill. “Flowers By the Roadside” is the latest offering from the band, and it’s a jubilant Americana cut plucked right out yesteryear. The track sounds indebted to cowboy chords as it does pop standards, and guitarist/vocalist Ian Felice’s singing is a sugar-sweet folk companion to Will Lawrence’s snare drumming. Suffice to say, “Flowers By the Roadside” is by-and-large one of the catchiest songs you’ll hear all week.

“This song was written one especially bleak winter day as a means to teleport to summer,” Ian says. “Midway through the first and only take of the song James walked across the room, picked up a toy glockenspiel and plucked out a melody that had occurred to him. It was recorded in 2018 in our old cinderblock studio outside of Hudson, NY.”

Watch the Tiller Russel-directed music video for “Flowers By the Roadside” below.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin