Exclusive: The Oak Ridge Boys Announce New Album and Debut New Video, “Brand New Star”

Music News The Oak Ridge Boys
Exclusive: The Oak Ridge Boys Announce New Album and Debut New Video, “Brand New Star”

Legendary Tennessee country/gospel group The Oak Ridge Boys have announced the details of their forthcoming album, 17th Avenue Revival, out on Mar. 16 via Lightning Rod Records / Thirty Tigers.

Paste can also share the Grammy-winning band’s new video for “Brand New Star,” in which they perform the track in Nashville’s historic RCA Studio A, where the likes of Willie Nelson, Dolly Parton and The Beach Boys have recorded. The track features a bouncy rhythm, simple, airy acoustic guitar, country instrumentation and twangy bluegrass vocals, which are especially moving and magical when the whole band joins in.

The Oak Ridge Boys’ new album was produced by Dave Cobb (Jason Isbell, Sturgill Simpson), who also produced the group’s 2009 album, The Boys Are Back. For the new album, Cobb wanted the group to revisit their gospel music roots, taking influence from the early days of rock ‘n’ roll and spiritual, African-American gospel music. Also under Cobb’s direction, during the band’s recording of the album, there was no vocal stacking and very few overdubs.

“Having been in The Oak Ridge Boys for almost 52 years,” says Duane Allen, “it can be difficult for me to imagine a place where we have not been. However, Dave Cobb had that vision, and the result is 17th Avenue Revival.”

“Dave brought music with spirit and a magical feel to the studio,” says the group’s William Lee Golden. “It became a mental, emotional, physical and spiritual revival for The Oak Ridge Boys.”

17th Avenue Revival is something we believe our fans will love,” says Richard Sterban, while Joe Bonsall adds, “Old roads turned into new roads on this album.”

Watch the video premiere of “Brand New Star” and check out the tracklist for 17th Avenue Revival below, along with a 1985 Oak Ridge Boys performance from the Paste Cloud. You can preorder the album here.

17th Avenue Revival Tracklist:
01. Brand New Star (Aaron Raitiere & Mando Saenz)
02. There Will Be Light (Jamey Johnson, Larry Shell & Buddy Cannon)
03. God’s Got It (Charlie Jackson)
04. I’d Rather Have Jesus (Rhea Miller & George Beverly Shea)
05. Walk In Jerusalem (Traditional /Public Domain)
06. Where He Leads Me I Will Follow (Ernest W. Blandy / Public Domain)
07. Pray To Jesus (Brandy Clark & Shane McAnally)
08. If I Die (Ashley Monroe & Vince Gill)
09. Let It Shine On Me (Vince Gill & Ashley Monroe)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin