The Voidz Announce Details of “Eclectic” Forthcoming Album, Virtue

Music News The Voidz
The Voidz Announce Details of “Eclectic” Forthcoming Album, Virtue

The Voidz have confirmed the details of their forthcoming new album, Virtue, out on March 30 via Cult Records/RCA Records.

It will be the band’s first album in nearly four years and their first under a new name, The Voidz, as they previously went by Julian Casablancas + The Voidz.

Virtue’s 15 tracks were recorded in Los Angeles and produced by Grammy-winner Shawn Everett (Alabama Shakes, The War On Drugs). Casablancas says of the album, “Our goal was to make a record that a wider audience would enjoy as much as we enjoyed the first album, Tyranny. Still a swirl of different styles, but I think this might the most eclectic record I’ve ever been a part of. There’s a song on there for everyone.”

Today, the band also shared the Julian Casablancas-directed video for new album track “QYURRYUS,” which is up there with some of Casablancas’ most experimental work to date. Its harsh synth-pop and industrial-rock soundscapes, mixed with Casablancas’ heavily produced, auto-tuned lead vocals, make for a bold, envelope-pushing new sound.

This new track follows their first single, “Leave It In My Dreams,” another experimental mashup of sounds with the band opting for prog-rock, electronica, neo-psychedelia and indie-pop this time around.

The Voidz will appear at Shaky Knees Festival in Atlanta in May and will tour extensively in support of Virtue, with more dates to be announced soon.

Preorder Virtue here and check out the album artwork and tracklist further down.

Virtue Album Art:

The Voidz Virtue Album Art.jpg

Virtue Tracklist:
01. Leave It In My Dreams
03. Pyramid of Bones
04. Permanent High School
05. ALieNNatioN
06. One of the Ones
07. All Wordz Are Made Up
08. Horse To Water
09. Wink
10. My Friend The Walls
11. Pink Ocean
12. Black Hole
13. Lazy Boy
14. We’re Where We Were
15. Pointlessness

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin