Thom Yorke Announces New Album ANIMA, Accompanying Paul Thomas Anderson Short Film

Music News Thom Yorke
Thom Yorke Announces New Album ANIMA, Accompanying Paul Thomas Anderson Short Film

Thom Yorke is coming, everyone.

After releasing a series of cryptic teasers in anticipation of his forthcoming solo project, the experimental instrumentalist has just announced details of his latest studio album ANIMA, set to be released digitally on June 27 and physically on July 19 via XL Recordings.

A Netflix-exclusive “one-reeler” directed by Paul Thomas Anderson will accompany the digital release. Set to three tracks from the new album, Yorke will score and star in the “mind-bending” visual piece. According to a press release, the film is best played loud.

To clear up any confusion, a “one-reeler” is a type of shortened motion picture popularized in the era of silent films—per the ANIMA one-reeler’s trailer, which you can watch down below.

The album’s physical release will be on CD, black double vinyl, limited-edition orange double vinyl, and a deluxe 180g heavyweight orange double vinyl that includes a 40-page lyric book and artwork by Stanley Donwood and Dr. Tchock (the latter of whom is Yorke incognito, by the way). The vinyl editions will include a bonus track.

Written by Yorke and produced by longtime Radiohead collaborator Nigel Godrich, the album will feature several unreleased tracks Yorke has debuted at Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes performances with Godrich and Tarik Barri.

The three artists will continue to collaborate on an extensive tour throughout Europe, Japan, Korea and North America in support of ANIMA. Tickets for the North American dates will go on general sale on June 21, and you can revisit the tour dates here.

Check out the album’s tracklist and artwork and Radiohead’s 1995 performance of “Fake Plastic Trees” from the Paste archives below. Further down, you can find the official trailer, poster and featured stills for the one-reeler. You can preorder Yorke’s new album here.

Anima Tracklist:
01. Traffic
02. Last I Heard (…He Was Circling The Drain)
03. Twist
04. Dawn Chorus
05. I Am A Very Rude Person
06. Not The News
07. The Axe
08. Impossible Knots
09. Runwayaway

Anima Artwork:





Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin