Career-Spanning Tom Petty Greatest Hits Collection The Best of Everything Coming in November

Music News Tom Petty
Career-Spanning Tom Petty Greatest Hits Collection The Best of Everything Coming in November

A new career-spanning Tom Petty greatest hits collection is on the way, titled The Best of Everything.

Due out on Nov. 16 via Geffen Records/UME, the set will feature selections not only from Petty’s solo work, but also from his time with The Heartbreakers and Mudcrutch. The 38 tracks will include two unreleased tracks, the autobiographical “For Real” and a re-worked version of the album’s title track, “The Best of Everything,” which includes a new second verse not on the original version from The Heartbreaker’s 1985 album Southern Accents.


This greatest hits collection follows a year of releases memorializing Petty, from posthumous box set An American Treasure, released in September, to the found-footage music video for previously unreleased track “Gainesville” earlier this month. This all follows Petty’s death in October of last year at age 66, a loss that reverberated throughout the classic rock community and beyond.

The collection will be available on digital streaming platforms and as a two-disc CD set in November, with a vinyl release to follow on Dec. 7. Both versions can be preordered here, and the tracklist is included further down this page.

Check out the alternate version of “The Best of Everything,” out today, Oct. 5, below, along with a a 1978 Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers performance from the Paste archives, and revisit Paste’s listing of the band’s best songs here.

The Best of Everything Tracklist:

Disc 1
01. Free Fallin’
02. Mary Jane’s Last Dance
03. You Wreck Me
04. I Won’t Back Down
05. Saving Grace
06. You Don’t Know How It Feels
07. Don’t Do Me Like That
08. Listen To Her Heart
09. Breakdown
10. Walls (Circus)
11. The Waiting
12. Don’t Come Around Here No More
13. Southern Accents
14. Angel Dream (No. 2)
15. Dreamville
16. I Should Have Known It
17. Refugee
18. American Girl
19. The Best Of Everything (Alt. Version)

Disc 2
01. Wildflowers
02. Learning To Fly
03. Here Comes My Girl
04. The Last DJ
05. I Need To Know
06. Scare Easy
07. You Got Lucky
08. Runnin’ Down A Dream
09. American Dream Plan B
10. Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around (feat. Stevie Nicks)
11. Trailer
12. Into The Great Wide Open
13. Room At The Top
14. Square One
15. Jammin’ Me
16. Even The Losers
17. Hungry No More
18. I Forgive It All
19. For Real

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin