Typhoon Surprise Release New Album Sympathetic Magic

Music News Typhoon
Typhoon Surprise Release New Album Sympathetic Magic

Indie rock band Typhoon took fans by surprise today with the release of their previously unannounced fifth studio album Sympathetic Magic, out now via Roll Call Records. This is the Portland band’s first album since 2018’s Offerings.

Typhoon frontman Kyle Morton wrote and tracked a significant part of the record in his basement studio while quarantining with his wife and dog. “Empire Builder” stands out as a testament to Morton’s compelling songwriting as he captures a view of America that is full of paranoia and cynicism, but not without hope: “Tiny points of life I see haphazardly / scattered in the void like so much bird seed / and I hope it’s enough.” The band’s large lineup, at times 11 members strong, came together through remote and individual socially distanced sessions to complete the LP.

Morton says of the new album:

I wrote all these songs while puttering around the house these past several months, because, what else was I going to do? The songs are about people- the space between them and the ordinary, miraculous things that happen there, as we come into contact, imitate each other, leave our marks, lose touch. Being self and other somehow amounting to the same thing.

Listen to Typhoon’s new single “Empire Builder” below, and purchase the album here. Keep scrolling for the album artwork and setlist.

Sympathetic Magic Album Artwork:

sympathetic magic.jpg

Sympathetic Magic Tracklist:

01. Sine Qua Nonentity
02. Empire Builder
03. Motion and Thought
04. Santos
05. We’re In It
06. Two Birds
07. Evil Vibes
08. And So What If You Were Right
09. Time, Time
10. Room Within The Room
11. Masochist Ball
12. Welcome to the Endgame

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin