Wet Share “There’s a Reason,” Lovely First Single From Their Second Album

The indie-pop trio have also announced a North American tour

Music News Wet
Wet Share “There’s a Reason,” Lovely First Single From Their Second Album

Brooklyn indie-pop trio Wet have shared their first new music since 2016: “There’s a Reason” is the first single from their forthcoming sophomore album, the details of which have yet to be revealed. For now, all we know is that the LP will be released “later this year.”

The contemplative new single, produced by Andrew Sarlo and Wet’s own Joseph Valle, is a smooth, mid-tempo ballad in which frontwoman Kelly Zutrau takes stock of a complicated relationship. Though she can’t quite grasp the connection’s source, she does know one thing: “There’s a reason / you are by my side / again,” she acknowledges over a lovely blend of soft, twangy guitars, gorgeous strings, steady percussion and understated synths.

Wet first made waves with their 2013 self-titled EP, which is most definitely worth listening to if you haven’t heard it. We highlighted the band as The Best of What’s Next in 2015, and in early 2016 they released their Columbia Records debut Don’t You to generally favorable reviews. They released two new tracks later that year, “The Middle” and “Turn Away,” but it’s unclear whether those songs will end up on their second record.

“There were a lot of challenges and a lot of changes,” says Zutrau of Wet’s journey over the two years since their debut. “There were so many reasons to not make music together anymore, but something compelled us to keep coming back to it. That’s what ‘There’s a Reason’ is about.”

Wet will head out on a headlining North American tour in late spring to preview their new album. Their 14-date run begins in Philadelphia on May 15, and ends in Santa Ana, Calif. on June 6, with stops in New York, Chicago, and Los Angeles along the way. L.A.-based duo Inc. No World will provide support for all dates. Tickets go on sale next Friday, March 16—more on that here.

Listen to “There’s a Reason” below (or via your streaming service of choice here), see Wet’s tour dates further down and stay tuned for more on their new album.

Wet Tour Dates:

15 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Coda
16 – Cambridge, Mass. @ The Sinclair
19 – Washington, D.C. @ Black Cat
20 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
23 – Toronto, Ontario @ Velvet Underground
24 – Detroit, Mich. @ Magic Stick
25 – Chicago, Ill. @ House of Blues
26 – Minneapolis, Minn. @ Varsity Theater
29 – Seattle, Wash. @ Neptune Theatre
30 – Portland, Ore. @ Wonder Ballroom

01 – San Francisco, Calif. @ The Independent
03 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Masonic Lodge @ Hollywood Forever
05 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ El Rey
06 – Santa Ana, Calif. @ Constellation Room

Share Tweet Submit Pin